Do You Remember The Patriots?


When you celebrate Memorial Day, do you remember the original Patriots, The Founding Fathers and Mothers, you know, those guys?  I do.

Maybe it’s because I live in historic rich Virginia and my ancestors were among those early Americans, maybe because I’ve invested years of study in The American Revolution and the  events leading up to it.  I get it.  I know what it was all about.  And it was a big deal, a huge deal with a shot heard round the world.  I’m also acutely aware of how far our country has strayed from those hard-won ideals and the need to get back to them before we are unrecognizable as the United States Of America.  More bailouts won’t get us there.  Nor yet more big government.

A government which robs Peter to pay Paul can always depend on the support of Paul. ~ George Bernard Shaw

 

Experience teaches us to be most on our guard to protect liberty when the government’s purposes are beneficient. ~ Louis Brandeis

This country was founded on a fight to the death for the principal of FREEDOM.  Getting to be a rare concept.  But it was.  Those original Patriots didn’t slog through blood soaked fields choked in clouds of musket powder and barraged by cannon fire in the worst weather Mother Nature can hurl at you because they didn’t care about Life, Liberty and the Pursuit of Happiness.  But because they’d rather have these vital qualities in their life than live without them.  They wouldn’t give up, they wouldn’t quit.  Somehow, somewhere when the war dragged on and the days seemed blackest they hung on and found a way.  So can we.

Last year, my Revolutionary War novel Enemy of the King was published by The Wild Rose Press.  Yes, it’s a romance, but my intensive research took years and that story is as accurate an insight into the time period as any serious fiction novel.  If you haven’t read Enemy of the King, do not demean my efforts because it falls under the category of romance.   Surprise, surprise.  They fell in love back then too.  In fact, it was partly the love of a woman that lead Benjamin Arnold to his infamous downfall.  I’ll bet you’ve heard of him.

My colonial American ancestor kept a record of his experience in the Battle of Guilford Courthouse that’s used by historians today.  That alone gives me the right to pen a novel set during the Revolution.  And there are others on all sides of the family who fought in that war.   The journalist was Sam Houston, uncle of the famous Sam.  His account and others from Virginia and Carolina Scots-Irishmen who fought in the Southern face of the war inspired my initial plunge into the high drama of the American Revolution, one of the most  fascinating periods of history.   And vitally relevant to the state of our nation today.  I challenge you to read up on the men and women who sacrificed so much in shaping the country we are blessed to live in.  Cherish the ideals they fought for and remember.  Never take them for granted.  They are all too easily taken away, and not readily given.  The struggle for independence is ongoing.

No man is good enough to govern another man without that other’s consent. ~ Abraham Lincoln

The will of the people is the only legitimate foundation of any government, and to protect its free expression should be our first object. ~ Thomas Jefferson
****
In Enemy of the King I focused on the Southern face of the war in the Carolinas and featured the little known but all-important battle of King’s Mountain. That pivotal battle in the fall of 1780 turned the tide of the Revolution during a very dark year.   I’ve walked that battle field twice atop the wooded knob called King’s Mountain.   Awesome, at least for one with my imagination.  I could almost hear the musket fire and battle cries lingering in the smoky air.  Being a natural born romantic, I wrote a historical romance set during one of the most all-consuming periods ever.    Even with an excellent literary agent representing me, New York publishing Houses declined, said readers aren’t interested in colonial America, that the Revolution wasn’t sexy or exciting enough.  But I’m kind of like my tenacious ancestors and refused to give up.  Years later, the Wild Rose Press was quite happy to publish it.
****
OK readers, prove New York wrong. Join in the adventure.   Maybe I’ll even get around to writing that sequel I have on the backburner.
If you would like the opportunity to win a FREE DIGITAL DOWNLOAD (E-Book) of ENEMY OF THE KING, leave me a comment to that effect.    And God bless you and all who sail with you. 🙂

And now, for your listening pleasure, the opening score from The Patriot. Poignant, perfect for this time period, and a deeply stirring soundtrack.  I love it, but especially the theme song.



15 responses to “Do You Remember The Patriots?

  1. I couldn’t agree more, Beth. Beautiful post. I lived in Virginia as a child and still have family in northern Virginia-the Fredericksburg area. Loved visiting the colonial and civil war museums and battlefields. I have a son-in-law in the army, stationed in Germany and I fly the flag on my front porch. AND, one of my favorite quotes is: “Those who forget history are destined to repeat it. ” That might not be the exact wording, but the sentiment is profound. And I’m saddened by the fact that this country does not seem to be as patriotic as it was during WWII.

    Like

  2. Beth, I know it’s vain, but I am proud that my ancestors fought in the American Revolution. I wish I knew all of the battles in which they fought and if any of them were in that terrible winter at Valley Forge. Anothr wonderful post. You have a definite gift!

    Like

  3. Thanks Lilly and Caroline. It’s wonderful to find kindred spirits. We are not alone in our sentiments, and you should definitely be proud of both your ancestors and offspring. I am.
    Interesting about Valley Forge, it seems colonial America was going through a mini ice age back then which is one reason it was so severely cold. What those colonial troops endured is beyond the imagination. But not only at Valley Forge, whew, everywhere. It boggles the mind. No doubt what our troops are enduring today would also blow my mind and I’m eternally grateful for their service. I love that quote about those who forget the past being doomed to repeat it too. Thanks!

    Like

  4. Hi Beth,

    This is all so true–great post! This is a time period that not many people seem to choose to write about, and I don’t understand why that is. I love history, and this is one of the most exciting time periods because of the changes that the entire world was going through. I agree with you–what we have today IS a far cry from what our ancestors fought for. Greed has taken over. Maybe that’s why I love to read and write historicals–it makes me wonder if our generation will be the last to remember and care about what the founding fathers fought so hard for. Yes, NY seems to care about only what affects NY–I write historical westerns and have been rejected by the NY publishers in the past because they say the western is “dead”–I know a lot of people who love westerns and western romance. I would love to win a copy of your book!
    Cheryl

    Like

  5. Amen Cheryl. Well said and I heartily agree. I love Westerns too, and anything that proves New York wrong floats my boat. If our children and grandchildren heed what we’ve impressed upon them about their rich heritage, then ours will NOT be the last generation to care about where and who we came from. But I agree, we must teach our children well. And thanks so much for the high five on my post and Enemy of the King.

    Like

  6. I think that the past is the future. We are what our ancestors made us and they were pretty amazing.
    Good luck Beth!

    Like

  7. Yes, they were. Bless them. Thanks Mary.

    Like

  8. Beth, you hit the nail on the head. Our forefathers didn’t fight the fight for no good reason. I’m afraid they’d be ashamed at what the United States of America has become. We really do need to stand up and fight again- maybe not with arms but with our moral compass. I LOVE this period in time- and if I am thinking right I also had descendants fight at the Battle of King Mountain- I am pretty sure- see now I’m gonna have to grab my notebook and check back to see if I am right or thinking of something else! And now you’ve inspired me to research some more!

    Thanks! :O)

    Like

  9. Yes, one of my descendants Alexander Grant married a Susanna Morris after her father John Morris was killed at the Battle of King Mountain. I knew I had done research invovling that!!! Enemy of the King sounds wonderful!

    Like

  10. Thanks so much, Andrea. Wow, you found that ancestor. His name is probably on the battlefield monument. You should visit King’s Mountain, not far from Charlotte. BTW, I think you meant ancestor not descendant unless you are referring to a previous life. 🙂

    Like

  11. I’ve loved the Colonial America period since I was a kid. And how cool to have something experienced and written by your very own ancestor from that time. Makes me giddy just thinking about it. I’d love to read Enemy of the King. I wish you many, many sales. 😀

    Like

  12. Thanks everyone for your fabulous comments! Penny Rader won a copy of Enemy of the King.

    Like

  13. Really! I can’t wait to read Enemy of the King. Thank you sooo much! 😀

    Penny
    penny@pennyrader.com

    Like

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.