Planting A Fairy Garden


If you lack whimsy and magic in your life, consider enticing fairies to your yard by including the plants they find irresistible.

Personally, I’ve always been a big fan of fairies and they are more than welcome in my garden.  I just hope the cats don’t get them, though I expect they’re clever enough to evade felines and nosy farm dogs. Perhaps they catch a ride with butterflies or bumblebees and soar to safety, or simply hide among the leaves and flowers.

Not too long ago, my youngest niece, Cailin, now seven, aspired to be a fairy when she grew up and often checked her back in the mirror for signs of  sprouting wings.  To her disappointment, none were forthcoming. She still believes ardently in fairies, though, and knows quite a lot about them.  I’ll pass on any questions you might have and share Cailin’s replies. She’s a highly imaginative child with lots of ideas to share.

But back to Fairy gardens, I found much useful information on planting one at this herbal site.   “Some herbs are associated with fairies, the most important one being thyme. In Shakespeare’s A Midsummer Night’s Dream, Titania, the fairy queen, sleeps in a bed of wild thyme growing on a bank.”

*I love thyme and have assorted varieties growing with more or less success in my garden (s) and am forever planting more. You can’t have too much thyme.

“Foxgloves are essential for fairy gardens. According to legend, fairies sleep in the bell-shaped flowers, and wear them as gloves. Other common names for the plant include fairy fingers, fairy thimbles, and fairy cap.”

But of course. I just have to get the darn plants to grow here again.

“The purple foxglove is a biennial. Its blooms range in color from white and cream to pink and purple. There may be attractive dark spots in the throats of the bell-shaped flowers. There are perennial foxgloves as well, including the yellow foxglove.

Foxgloves often self-sow and prefer cool weather. Those in warm climates may want to grow the quick-blooming variety, called ‘Foxy.’ This will produce flowers the very first year from seed.”

*But they are not nearly as stunning as the varieties you have to wait for.

Another herb that is essential in the fairy garden is saffron. Fairies are especially fond of this culinary herb/spice for flavoring cakes and dyeing cloth. Other recommended plants are rosemary and roses. Roses are much-loved by fairies for their beauty and fragrance.”

Clap if you believe in fairies~

tiny fairy baby

17 responses to “Planting A Fairy Garden

  1. I wonder what your nieces advice would be to someone who wasn’t raised with fairies…

    Like

  2. I love that photo of your niece. Foxglove grows wild where I live, but not the beautiful dark pink of your photo. Here it’s a white that is almost pale pink. I haven’t tried growing it our garden, but enjoy seeing it on the roadside in spring. I content myself growing Knock out roses and a Peggy Martin climbing rose at the edge of our long patio and lots of patio plants. Today, my husband and I tried to cut back shrubs that had gone to jungle.

    Like

    • Thanks Caroline. Cailin is a treasure. I think you do very well to grow what you do given your challenging weather conditions. Ours are challenging enough but pale next to what you’ve told me about yours.

      Like

  3. Pingback: Gardening Tips for Newbies | TrevelynsGardening

  4. Lovely post. Do you suppose fairies live in the desert? I haven’t seen a single one in the 34 years that we’ve lived in Arizona.

    Like

  5. Loved your post, and love Fairies. I have a question, though. I live in Alaska where growing a delicate fairy garden might be tricky. Any siggestions?

    Like

  6. I’m clapping!
    Love the picture of your niece.
    That’s a frame-able one.

    Like

  7. I love fairy gardens! I usually plant mine in a big pot and add all the little things. Have 5 in my gardens right now, had more but need to replant.

    Like

  8. Pingback: Aureolaria pedicularia | Find Me A Cure

Leave a Reply

