Furbaby Friday with Author Jennifer Wilck


I’m glad to welcome fellow Wild Rose Press Author Jennifer Wilck who shares about her special furbaby. her family, writing, and exciting new release.

Jennifer: Our dog rescued my family and me when she was approximately two years old. We count her birthday as her adoption day, April 10.

After my two daughters argued over approximately thirty names, they settled on the extremely non-creative name of Midnight. As an author, I’m a little embarrassed about that, and swear my character names are better—I hope!

I have no idea why her original family gave her up, because she is the smartest, most well behaved dog, I’ve ever known.

She learned her name within three days.

We don’t let her upstairs because of my allergies, and not only did she learn not to go upstairs within the first day at our house, but she transfers that training to my parents’ house as well.

She can tell, based on the clothes I wear when I come downstairs in the morning whether or not I’m taking her for a walk (even my kids don’t do that!).

She only eats food if you tell her to, which means when you drop food on the floor, she looks at you first before going after it. An awesome trait, except that I STILL have to vacuum up crumbs.

(Midnight at the vet hoping for a treat)

She likes people better than animals. When we walk, she goes up to the human while their dog goes up to her. However, her best dog friend is Chester, a 90-pound hound. She’s 30 pounds. And she thinks she’s the alpha. She makes him walk behind her and she barks at any dog that tries to come near him. She’s fickle in her affections, though, and if she’s not in the mood for him to sniff her, she runs through his legs. Or she turns her head away and refuses to look at him. Poor guy.

I spend a lot of time at my computer—I’m a writer, after all. When she wants attention, she sits at my feet and leans against my legs. If I don’t notice her, she bangs against me. So I stop, rub her back and give her the attention we both need. Sitting all day would otherwise be boring and unhealthy.

Walking her in the morning provides me with inspiration. We live on a lake and it’s 3.5 miles around. She loves it because she gets exercise and a chance to sniff everything. I love it because it gets me moving, gets my creative juices flowing and wakes me up.

We’re a good team, she and I. And I think I might be a better writer because of her.

Beth: What a touching story about Midnight rescuing you and your family, Jennifer. I agree, that’s often the way with our ‘rescues.’ They actually rescue us.

Jennifer: Addicted to Love is my first contemporary romance with The Wild Rose Press. It’s the first book in an anticipated three-book series. While the story is a mainstream romance, the characters are Jewish, which I think adds some spice and variety to the story, especially the meddlesome-yet-loveable grandma and the food! The setting is Hoboken, NJ and New York City. And, like many of my other books, there is a child. In this case, she’s a teenager. As the mom of two teen girls, I have a lot of experience in this area, and it was fun creating a relatable character that showcases the best side teenage girlhood (and, of course, a few eye rolls, because, you know, teenagers!). I hope you enjoy it!

Blurb: Dan Rothberg struggled after an accident killed his wife and he nearly lost custody of his daughter. He can no longer allow himself to get attached to anything or anyone. Until he meets Hannah.

Hannah Cohen is a young executive with a meddlesome grandmother and a troubled brother. She’d like nothing better than to find her own Mr. Right, after too many Mr. Wrongs. A sexy older man with a teenage daughter was never in her plans.

As they navigate their relationship through adolescent attitudes and grandmotherly interference, they realize age is just a number and love can be right in front of them. But when the terrible truth of Dan’s former struggles is exposed, Hannah must decide if she can get past his deception and allow love to conquer all.

Buy Links:

The Wild Rose Press: https://catalog.thewildrosepress.com/all-titles/5133-addicted-to-love.html?search_query=jennifer+wilck&results=2

Amazon: https://www.amazon.com/Addicted-Love-Serendipity-Book-1-ebook/dp/B071HZQS4S/ref=sr_1_1?ie=UTF8&qid=1499096714&sr=8-1&keywords=jennifer+wilck

Barnes & Noble: https://www.barnesandnoble.com/w/addicted-to-love-jennifer-wilck/1126454796?ean=2940157486310

Kobo: https://www.kobo.com/us/en/ebook/addicted-to-love-13

Biography: Jennifer started telling herself stories as a little girl when she couldn’t fall asleep at night. Her favorite stories to write are those with smart, sassy, independent heroines; handsome, strong and slightly vulnerable heroes; and her stories always end with happily ever after.

In the real world, she’s the mother of two amazing daughters and wife of one of the smartest men she knows. When she’s not writing, she loves to laugh with family and friends, is a pro at finding whatever her kids lost in plain sight, and spends way too much time closing doors that should never have been left open. She believes humor is the only way to get through the day and doesn’t share her chocolate.

She writes contemporary romance, some of which are mainstream and some of which involve Jewish characters. All are available through Amazon and Barnes & Noble.

Social Media:

Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/Jennifer-Wilck-201342863240160/

Twitter: https://twitter.com/JWilck

Website: http://www.jenniferwilck.com

Blog: http://jenniferwilck.blogspot.com

Pinterest: https://www.pinterest.com/jenniferwilck/

29 responses to “Furbaby Friday with Author Jennifer Wilck

  1. Pingback: Furbaby Friday with Author Jennifer Wilk — One Writer’s Way | O LADO ESCURO DA LUA

  2. Aww Midnight sounds amazing!

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Jennifer, Midnight sounds like a true treasure! Isn’t it funny how the pets we need in our lives just seem to come to us? And yes, it’s a good thing our dogs interrupt our writing from time to time and drag us outside. Otherwise, we’d shrivel up and blow away!

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Midnight sounds lovely – rescues are so loving and rewarding!

    Liked by 1 person

  5. What a sweetie! Love Midnight. She certainly is a smart pooch, but it does sound like she has trained you. Very cute. Enjoy your lake walks with her. All the best on your new release, Jennifer.

    Liked by 1 person

  6. What a wonderful dog, Midnight! Enjoy your walks, I love to walk with my dog. I agree a nice long walk gets the creative juice flowing. Best wishes for your new release, Addicted to Love!

    Liked by 1 person

  7. Sandra Dailey

    Midnight and ADDICTED TO LOVE both sound wonderful, Jennifer.

    Liked by 1 person

  8. Your book sounds wonderful, Jennifer! I had to laugh about your furbaby leaving crumbs on the floor. I never had to clean the floor of spilled food while our dog was alive. I was spoiled.

    Like

  9. Love your dog, Jennifer! Best of luck with your new book.

    Liked by 1 person

  10. Love the story about Midnight and how fortunate you are in having such a well trained dog. Can’t believe people who just give up animals to the shelters. My dogs were my babies. Congratulations on the release and my hope for many sales.

    Liked by 1 person

  11. What a sweetheart! Animals often fill a spot in our hearts that humans can’t! Their love is so unconditional and freely given! Your book sounds like a fun read!

    Liked by 1 person

  12. Barbara Bettis

    A terrific dog, for sure. My grandchildren’s dog ‘rescued’ them, too, but he’s more of a handful than Midnight! How great to have a reason to walk those miles every day. 🙂 Best of luck with your book.

    Liked by 1 person

  13. Mary Gillgannon

    I enjoyed your anecdotes about Midnight. She sounds like a great dog. (I suspect there are a lot more great dogs than there are great people.) I don’t understand people ;who can live without animals. They add so much joy and comfort to our lives. Best wishes on your book. Cheers!

    Like

Leave a Reply

