“Promise me you’ll never forget me because if I thought you would, I’d never leave.” ― A.A. Milne


Forget-me-nots are reminders to remember.

“The blue and bright-eyed floweret of the brook, Hope’s gentle gem, the sweet Forget-me-not.” ~Samuel Taylor Coleridge

Forget me Nots

(Image by Elise)

Yesterday I posted a photograph of forget-me-nots on Facebook, and yesterday saw me reconnected with a dear friend, and two nieces I rarely see. The garden was the draw for my nieces. I’m glad my earthy toils have rippled out and brought us together again. Gardening is common ground, a universal language. No need for the potentially divisive topics of politics or religion. Weather often comes up in the conversation, sharing tips on building up the soil, making compost, fighting fungus with organic brews, which varieties to plant… Elise and I favor a wild flower/cottage garden mix of herbs, reseeding heirlooms, and perennials. We tuck vegetables in among pollinator attracting plants. Fruit-wise, we have raspberries, rhubarb, strawberries, grapes, and several trees.

forget-me-not-blossom.jpg1Despite the weather trials, many plants survive. I savor what’s in bloom now, and look forward to more in the future. My policy: if the earth is bare, sow seed, or plant something. Bear the pollinators in mind, Remember the bees and butterflies. Don’t leave ground empty, and don’t waste too much room on grass.  Unless you need a large stretch for playing cricket, or grazing goats, it’s wasted space. Americans and their chemically treated lawns drive me nuts. ***Beth’s soapbox.

Symbolism of the Forget Me Not Flower from: http://www.flowermeaning.com/forget-me-not-flower-meaning/

“Since the Germans coined the most common name used for this flower, it’s natural that there’s a myth of two lovers walking along the Danube River first seeing the bright blue blossoms. The man retrieved the flowers for the woman, but he was swept away by the river and told her not to forget him as he floated away. Whether the story is true or not, it’s certainly made the Forget Me Not a lasting symbol of remembrance. It’s also been adopted as a symbol by the Freemasons who faced persecution for their beliefs, and represents the Armenian Genocide that started in 1915. The Alzheimer’s Society uses it as an icon to raise awareness for the disease and support for caretakers. While the Forget Me Not has played a big role in Europe and America over the last few hundred years, it’s still relatively rarely used in other cultures.”

Forget me Nots

(Beth took this pic)

“If we spend our days waiting for fabulous roses, we could miss the beauty and wonder of the tiny forget-me-nots that are all around us.”
Dieter F. Uchtdorf, Forget Me Not

“A good character is the best tombstone. Those who loved you and were helped by you will remember you when forget-me-nots have withered. Carve your name on hearts, not on marble.” ~Charles Spurgeon

2 responses to ““Promise me you’ll never forget me because if I thought you would, I’d never leave.” ― A.A. Milne

  1. Beautiful post.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

