Touched by an Angel


Watching for Angels--Beth Trissel

I’m ever on the lookout for angels, pretty much anywhere. They can appear in the most unexpected guises and places, so you never know when you may encounter one. Angels may resemble ordinary people.  May be anyone. Possibly even us, if we deeply touch someone’s life in a good way. But back to the ‘real’ heavenly beings. There are innumerable accounts that range from the famous Biblical angels, like the heavenly host who appeared to the shepherds abiding in the field keeping watch over their flocks by night, proclaiming Christ’s birth, to those who appear to everyday people. These stories fill volumes of books.

Have you ever met an angel, even briefly? I know a few folk who have. For one grieving widow, that brief illumination transformed her life from dark despair to hope. Being touched by an angel can do that. Another story is from a college student who fell to the pavement–hard–after she was struck by a car. She recalls an older woman’s kind face and a hand reaching out. Onlookers were amazed when this girl sprang to her feet, as if aided, and asked for the old woman who helped her up. No one else saw her. An angel, we’re thinking.

Watching for Angels--Beth Trissel

Another incident comes from a friend remembering a childhood visitation when she awoke from a feverish sleep to find an angel seated at the edge of her bed. She describes the face as human-like but says the features were more angular than ours and silvery. The rest of its body was luminous and seemed neither male nor female, but she remembers the eyes, green, and the reassuring feeling of being watched over. You may think this divine visitation was the figment of a child’s fevered mind, or you may believe that she saw an angel. I believe. Once when I was asleep I heard a beloved voice call my name, a voice as familiar as my mother’s or husband’s and yet it was neither of them. I think this was an angel and someday I will see and instantly recognize this being as though meeting with an old friend, and understand that they have always been with me.

In these troubled times, seeking for angels is a good thing. Let me know if you meet one. Maybe you already have.

4 responses to “Touched by an Angel

  1. I have been protected several times by and angel’s presence. I believe.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Beth, you could if you like read my account of my experience with an angel at http://www.veldabrotherton.wordpress.com

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

