What’s the Difference between Fantasy and ‘Reality’ TV?


Alaskan Bush People.jpg2Not much, apparently. After recent fraud charges, and the rejected plea deal from the Brown Family, of Alaskan Bush People fame, who’ve been calling into the Juneau hearings from Seattle, I’m feeling disenchanted. I know many of you were already wise to this show, but I enjoyed it and the family. If regarded as fiction, I suppose I still can. This then begs the question, are ANY reality TV shows actually real? I have my doubts.

GRIMM-header

Given the charade in reality TV, Grimm, a favorite show of mine, is really quite believable. Being a cool form of Wesen (pronounced Ves-sin) could definitely offer advantages. I’ve always wanted super powers. My favorite character in the series is Monroe, a gregarious Blutbad (prounced BLOOT-baad) a werewolf wesen. I’m also fond of his wife, Rosalee, a Fuchsbau (cute kitty looking wesen), with a wonderful Spice Shop. She sells all kinds of herbal potions, some with magical properties, of course. Grimm is filmed in Portland, Oregon. Here’s a link to some of the neat sites featured in the series. This season is off with a bang!

Sleepy Hollow.jpg2Sleepy Hollow, another fav, is a little weird, but then, it always has been. Fun show, though. Hot guy. The intro/music to the show is awesome. And it’s totally believable. Scout’s honor. Fingers crossed behind my back. As is Buffy the Vampire Slayer. Not exactly current, but a classic. I LOVE the show and am working my way through the series. Better late than never.

Buffy_Season_(1)

What are some of your favorite reality TV shows, which frankly, I now suspect can include them all.

Among my favorite Buffy quotes:

“If the apocalypse comes, beep me.” ~Buffy

[On life] “Yes, it’s terribly simple. The good guys are always stalwart and true, the bad guys are easily distinguished by their pointy horns or black hats, and, uh, we always defeat them and save the day. No one ever dies, and everybody lives happily ever after.” ~Giles  (Giles is my favorite character on the series)

6 responses to “What’s the Difference between Fantasy and ‘Reality’ TV?

  1. “Reality” tv is highly scripted and always has been. Some of it is more honest than others, like Duck Dynasty. I’ve seen interviews with them, and even they are very much aware that they are producing a show and sitting around doing nothing doesn’t sell. Much of it is simply a matter of Hollywood finally figured out how to produce shows without having to pay actors. Whew. I’ve been wanting to say that for a long time. 🙂 The only reality tv I like are the cooking shows. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I’ve never cared for the so called reality shows. The drama is bad at the best. My fav show along the lines of Grimm and Sleepy Hollow, which I do like, is Supernatural. It’s been on for ten seasons now and is wonderful. All the little asides and double entendre are clever and the acting is superb. Also enjoy your blog a lot cause you make me think.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. I guess I’ve always been cynical, Beth, but even in the early days of “reality” TV (The Real World?) I never believed they were anything but scripted soap operas. The only thing that made them different from other scripted shows was the quality of the videotape and the talk freely booth (whatever they’re called) asides. Needless to say, I prefer shows like Grimm and (♡♡)Sleepy Hollow. I love SH, personally. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

