What’s in the Box?


antique chestThe mystery of boxes, what they might–or could–hold, has long intrigued me. Ornate or simple, all have great potential. While growing up, a good cardboard box was hard to come by and cherished. The ideal repository for all my worldly goods, such as they were, like those 1960’s Superman, Spiderman, and Batman comic books left behind when we moved. Mom didn’t want so many boxes in the u-haul to deal with. I had to choose. The dolls, stuffed animals, and books went, the comics stayed behind. This sort of thing is the reason those old comics are so valuable now. As a child, I built a doll house by securing cardboard boxes together, and fashioned most of the furniture myself. I was enthralled with my creation.

Boxes may contain real treasure, or those things that have significance only to the person who hid them within its recesses. The famous, long sought after Ark of the Covenant, (Indiana Jones comes to mind) is the ultimate special box. And not one you want to be messing around with should you find it.

wrapped Christmas giftAnd then there are Christmas presents. Back to what’s in the box? How I loved to speculate while awaiting Christmas morning. Oh the angst of that seemingly interminable wait, so long ago. My Uncle R.W. made wooden boxes in his wood working shop that he gave us to put our special things in. Great concept and gift. I still have mine. Not to overlook jewelry and music boxes. The list goes on.

Treasure chests and Pirate chests are also boxes. Don’t mess with pirate treasure if you find that either. Generally cursed.

Back to cardboard boxes. The small people in my life love my penchant for holding onto boxes. Amazon delivers a lot of them to my home. All sizes. The ‘smalls’ grab tape, scissors, markers, and they’re off creating everything from armor to battle wind fairies, (my niece Cailin’s idea) kitten houses, (kittens can never have too many) ships…hideouts for themselves…you name it. All highly decorated. When I informed them that I’ve been accused of having too many boxes (hoarding, actually) by some members of the family, they regarded me sadly. How could anyone not recognize the vital importance of boxes, they asked, saddened by such ignorance.

vintage wooden boxIndeed.

And then there’s the idea that people are like boxes. What’s inside?

A box without hinges, key, or lid, yet golden treasure inside is hid.
 J.R.R. Tolkien, The Lord of the Rings, 18921973)
“There are people who put their dreams in a little box and say, “Yes, I’ve got dreams, of course I’ve got dreams.” Then they put the box away and bring it out once in awhile to look in it, and yep, they’re still there.
 Erma Bombeck (U.S. humorist, 19271996)

4 responses to “What’s in the Box?

  1. My 5 y/o great granddaughter still likes to sit in boxes to watch TV, use the iPad or phone. She even likes to sit in laundry baskets, although she is too big and the baskets don’t survive intact. I like shoe boxes to store old photos and knick knacks. If an antique of gift shop has photos or post cards in shoe boxes I have to look.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I always had boxes when I was a kid. My dad had a TV repair shop and also sold new ones so I got some good size boxes. Used to make cars, forts. What ever you could imagine. Was so fun. You can put so many things in the pretty wooden ones or fancy ones too.
    Sue B

    Like

Leave a Reply

