Writing Elves


I’m hard at work on the sequel to historical romance novel, Traitor’s Legacy, entitled Traitor’s Curse, and in need of writing elves. Some might think these elusive beings are imaginary. Nope. Peaches and Cream happily left their box and came to my aid. However, they’re not as much help as I’d hoped.

The writng elves1

“Cats are dangerous companions for writers because cat watching is a near-perfect method of writing avoidance”
 Dan Greenburg (Kitten watching is even more addictive.)It is impossible to keep a straight facein the presence of one or more kittens. ~Cynthia E.VarnadoA catless writer is almost inconceivable. It’s a perverse taste, really, since it would be easier to write with a herd of buffalo in the room than even one cat; they make nests in the notes and bite the end of the pen and walk on the typewriter keys. ~Barbara Holland

one writing elf1

I had to put the kittens back in their box. They were not happy about it. The writing bug has bitten. As has their desire to have the run of the house. But they’re too little, I told them, so must visit in spurts.

Cats can work out mathematically the exact place to sit that will cause most inconvenience. ~Pam Brown

There is no more intrepid explorer than a kitten. ~Jules Champfleury

Guess who wants out of their box1

Cats seem to go on the principle that it never does any harm to ask for what you want. ~Joseph Wood Krutch

Here’s a sample of their work. I hate to be critical, but I don’t think it has a lot of promise. Looks like I’m on my own with this novel.

the assistance of writing elves2

 

5 responses to “Writing Elves

  1. They are just so darn cute. I wouldn’t get too much done if I was a writer. LOL.
    Sue B

    Liked by 1 person

    • It’s tough. Impossible when they’re on the go. That’s why we have the big box. 🙂 But soon, I will have to shift them to a room of their own, and let them have times to visit in the larger house. I don’t think I can part with either one…

      Like

    • PS. I asked a friend to bring his wife to see them and he was afraid I wanted to give her one, and I said NO! I’m not giving them away.

      Like

  2. Beth, your elves are adorable! I so miss having mine around (lost them some years ago and haven’t hooked up with new cute critters yet). They might write a lousy manuscript, but somehow they’re still wonderful muses, LOL. Thanks for a beautiful post!

    Like

Leave a Reply

