“Keep Calm: It’s only a first draft.” – Unknown


Siamese cat with antique typewriter3

It’s a slow writing day, possibly because I have bronchitis. Maybe these quotes will inspire me to persevere, and some of you in the process.

“I am an artist. This means I live in a perverse fantasy world with unrealistic expectations. Thank you for understanding.” – Unknown

“I know nothing in the world that has so much power as a word…” – Emily Dickinson (She lived before lightsabers)

“Libraries raised me.” – Ray Bradbury

Writing old school.

Writing old school.

“And by the way, everything in life is writable about if you have the outgoing guts to do it, and the imagination to improvise. The worst enemy to creativity is self-doubt.” – Sylvia Plat

“Fairy tales are more than true, not because they tell us that dragons exist, but because they tell us that dragons can be beaten.” – G.K. Chesterton (Unless, of course, you like dragons and want to keep them. I’ve still got mine.)

“Good writing isn’t science. It’s an art, and the horizon is infinite. You can always get better.” – Unknown

cat on laptop“I care not for your excuses, mortal. Finish your writing!” – Loki (Alright, already)

“Write what should not be forgotten…” – Isabel Allende (Like colonial America and the American Revolution?  The whole how America came to be thing. Done that.)

“Never give up.” – Unknown (Well, I’m still at it.)

“I’m always writing a story in my head.” – Unknown (Several, actually)

Lost your pen?Dogs and cats/kittens are my usual writing assistants. And preschoolers. Not as much help as you might think.

“Things that make you weird as a kid will make you great tomorrow.” – James Victore (I was definitely a weird kid, so should be an awesome author)

“You are responsible for the talent that has been entrusted to you. Go work with it.” – Unknow

"To write is to be vulnerable." - Unknown

“To write is to be vulnerable.” – Unknown

“The discipline of creation, be it to paint, compose, write, is an effort toward wholeness.” – Madeleine L’Engle (No way I’m arguing with Madeleine L’Engle. She has my utmost respect)

“Write like there’s no tomorrow. Revise like you didn’t write it.” – Writers Digest (OK. I’ve got it.)

“Pajamas. All day.” – Unknown (yep)

Oh, goody, the writing fairy has arrived. I knew if I just believed hard enough, she’d come and lend a hand.

the writing fairy

4 responses to ““Keep Calm: It’s only a first draft.” – Unknown

  1. My favorite-“Pajamas. All day.” I do hope you feel better soon. I am sure it’s hard to get things done. Hope the kitties are well.
    Sue B

    Like

  2. Some wonderful thoughts Beth!!

    Like

Leave a Reply

