Always speak politely to an enraged Dragon. ~Steven Brust


I wonder if I stuck a dragon in one of my historicals if anyone would notice? Hmmm… My editor might.

When Bilbo Baggins realizes the dangerous adventure he’s about to undertake with Gandalf and the dwarves, that includes the dragon Smaug, he falls to the floor of his hobbit hole and declares, “Struck by lightning! Struck by lightning!”

“Never laugh at live dragons.”― J.R.R. Tolkien

“No, I would not want to live in a world without dragons, as I would not want to live in a world without magic, for that is a world without mystery, and that is a world without faith.” ― R.A. Salvatore, Streams of Silver

 “I’m not so much a dragon slayer, more a dragon annoyer — I’m a dragon irritater.” ― Craig Ferguson

“Thats the spirit-one part brave,three parts fool.”― Christopher Paolini, Eragon

 “my dragon? save anybody? you must have have him confused with someone else- Smaug perhaps?…” ― Margaret Weis, Elven Star

“It does not do to leave a live dragon out of your calculations, if you live near him.”  J. R. R. Tolkien

 Royalty free images

10 responses to “Always speak politely to an enraged Dragon. ~Steven Brust

  1. Lovely post, Beth. I hope there are no dragons near you to interfere with and terrorize the fairies in your garden. That would be too upsetting to your niece.

    Like

    • Well, interestingly enough, Cailin tells me her latest fairy find has been entrusted with the care of a baby dragon. If properly nurtured, it will turn out all right, I’m told.

      Like

  2. I don’t think I would want to make a dragon angry. That’s cute what Cailin told you. Great post.
    Sue B

    Like

  3. Wonderful quotes and pictures! Thanks for posting.

    Like

  4. Those dragon pictures are fantastic!

    Like

Leave a Reply

