‘What Can’t Be Cured, Must Be Endured’ but What if it Could Be?


alternative medicine--herbsMany folk are fighting respiratory ailments, or flu, these days. Don’t overlook herbs when reaching for a cure.

In my new herbal, Plants For A Medieval Herb Garden in the British Isles, I covered several plants used in treating colds, coughs, congestion, etc. Some excerpts from the book:

“I often come across references to coltsfoot in my reading. My favorite is related by the beloved British Author Miss Read in her charming books about rural life in the small, fictional village called Thrush Green. In her Thrush Green collection, coltsfoot is a favorite herb in a concoction brewed by the eccentric herbalist, Dotty Harmer. The herb is native to England and Scotland, in grasslands and wastelands. It flowers in early spring and is one of the most popular ingredients in cough remedies. It’s generally given together with other herbs possessing soothing respiratory qualities, such as horehound, marshmallow, and ground ivy. Coltsfoot tea and coltsfoot rock, a confectionery product created from Coltsfoot extract, has long been a remedy for coughs.”

“The tincture of pulsatilla (from the pasque flower) is beneficial in disorders of the mucous membrane, the respiratory, and the digestive passages.

From A Modern Herbal: “A few drops in a spoonful of water will allay the spasmodic cough of asthma, whooping-cough and bronchitis.”

fuzzy sage with blue larkspur“Why should a man die whilst sage grows in his garden?” ~ Old English Saying

“Sage is wreathed in lore. I love this herb. An old friend, sage always has a place, generally several, in our garden. We grow the traditional variety, also some of the unusual kinds. They rarely survive as well as the old standby, if at all. A centuries’ old tradition recommends planting rue among the sage to keep noxious toads away, but I like toads. They eat mosquitoes and other nasty’s. It was believed sage would thrive or wither as the owner’s business prospered or failed. Man, I hope our plants are alive. I use sage in cooking. The leaves can also be made into a tea for fighting colds. I know a woman who swears sage tea helped her ward off a cold. I don’t doubt her, but the flavor is so strong, I’d be hard-pressed to get my family to drink it.” (Image of sage in our garden with heirloom larkspur)

Natural fresh herbsNot in my herbal, because olive trees weren’t widely grown (if at all) in Medieval England or the rest of the British Isles, is Olive Leaf extract. Invaluable. I order mine from Olivus–organic, excellent quality, I get their premium extract. Olive leaf also comes in a tea, but I drink enough tea. I credit olive leaf and green tea with the significant improvement in my blood levels after my 2010 diagnosis of chronic leukemia. Both are powerful antioxidants that help with whatever you’re fighting. (Image of fresh herbs and oil)

In the hit paranormal television show, Grimm, my favorite spot is Rosalee’s Exotic Tea and Spice Shop, filled with herbs. She’s often making an herbal potion or remedy for whatever curse or condition needs curing. They use a lot of herbs on that show–fascinating. For more on Rosalee’s Shop visit the link.

For some reason, herbs are often associated with the realm of fantasy. But they’re quite real, as are their properties, while sometimes misunderstood and their effects exaggerated. Herbs possess medical attributes of inestimable worth, if used properly and for the right condition.

herbal medicineOf course, I had to include a disclaimer in my book so people wouldn’t stupidly overdose on an herb, particularly a poisonous one, but I believe much healing lies in plants. More than we yet know. Medieval monks were amazingly well versed in using medicinal plants. Some of that knowledge was lost with the destruction of the monks and monasteries during the Protestant Reformation. If we recovered all of that ancient knowledge, combined with what we possess now, plus ongoing research, we could cure anything. And we should be doing just that. (Image of old Alchemy laboratory)

medieval herb garden smaller sizeDaughter Elise is formatting my herbal for print, but the fully illustrated version is available in kindle now with 199 pages and over 100 images. ‘The major focus of this work is England and Scotland, but also touches on Ireland and Wales. Information is given as to the historic medicinal uses of these plants and the rich lore surrounding them. Journey back to the days when herbs figured into every facet of life, offering relief from the ills of this realm and protection from evil in all its guises.’

***Elise did the stunning cover. The book is 2.99 which doesn’t even cover the cost of a single image. Here’s the Amazon Kindle Link.

4 responses to “‘What Can’t Be Cured, Must Be Endured’ but What if it Could Be?

  1. Beth, I can’t stand it any longer. I’m going to buy the Kindle version now and still plan to get the print version when it’s available.

    Like

  2. Sounds so interesting. I don’t know much about herbs except from what you post.
    Sue B

    Like

Leave a Reply

