I’m Calling it–Spring!


Meadowlark, Eastern MeadowlarkSpring is when the meadowlark sings and I heard one in the field across the road from our farm this morning while out walking the dogs. I stopped and listened closely to be certain I’d heard right. Yep, three more unmistakable trills floated on the cold air. In full-blown spring, those sweet calls resound from various places in our meadow and the neighbor’s. Tracking down the elusive songster is almost like trying to catch a leprechaun. Getting a photograph of a meadowlark has long been a goal of mine and daughter Elise’s. We have yet to succeed. Still, hope, like spring, reigns eternal. Yes, we have snow and more biting temps in the forecast, but the barnyard geese are getting fussy and pairing off, our earliest indication of the renewal of the earth, and now the meadowlark has proclaimed the end of a brutal winter is in sight. (*Image of meadowlark I purchased)

Gray Geese sitting on eggsThe dogs and I tramped the yard to survey my dormant flower beds. I wonder how many plants will return after the frigid cold that engulfed the Shenandoah Valley these past weeks. The vegetable garden should be sporting the promise of a glorious cover crop of crimson clover, but the seedlings I knocked myself out to establish last fall are conspicuous by their absence. I will try again next fall. Over the weekend, Elise and I poured over seed catalogs and sent off several orders. I plan to start seeds in my little greenhouse later this month or the first of March. It’s solar, without an alternate heat source, so not much point in starting anything before then. If we really want it going all winter, we will have to install some kind of heat. As it is, the greenhouse is frozen out, so any bugs and diseases that might have lingered from last year are well and truly zapped. One advantage of a severe cold snap.

(*Nesting geese from last spring. Image by my husband, Dennis)

snowy pussywillow by the old red barn on march 25Another early sign of spring is the pussy willow in the back garden. Fuzzy grey buds are beginning to swell. Last year, I planted several pussy willows I’d rooted from cuttings down by the pond. I ought to trek over there and see if any of them made it. I’ll report back, and, if they didn’t, I shall persevere. (*Image of pussy willow by the old red barn from last spring by Elise)

Onward ho.

14 responses to “I’m Calling it–Spring!

  1. If you manage to catch a picture of a meadowlark, I’ll bet you could sell it, considering you had to purchase it. I do so look forward to spring. It’s supposed to be a wet February here in Louisiana, according to the weather email I got this morning. Wet, cold weather makes me want to fly south. Or cruise south! LOL

    Like

  2. I can’t believe you heard a meadowlark!!! Great post. Got me out of winter is forever mode. My little chickadee is a daily visitor now, the first year I’ve seen one. So tiny and cute. Sami has discovered how to sit on the shelf, place her paws on the doorknob and watch birdies’ breakfast!

    Like

  3. No signs of spring here yet. We are still getting that awful cold weather. I saw on one of the news channels in Madison they spotted some robins. I think it’s too early and too cold. That meadowlark looks beautiful. Loved your post. I hope you are doing well Beth.
    Sue B

    Like

  4. Maybe if we all THINK SPRING, we can force this winter to give up the ghost and let us have some sun and warmth? Glad spring is around the corner for y’all up there, Beth! 🙂

    Like

  5. Yaaaay for the Meadowlark. It will probably be a while before I hear one of those. My cardinal has been perched high in the apple tree and the chickadee has been de-de-de-ing, but no other signs of spring in the frozen tundra of Illinois.

    Like

  6. That’s what I miss most here Beth, those wonderful harbingers of spring. I would be really sick if there were not buds on the roses I planted as soon as I got here! Should be a bumper crop of them if they don’t freeze before spring comes to the desert. I am so enjoying your photos!

    Like

    • Thanks Jinny. After we get through this latest snowstorm our temps are to gradually rise into the 50’s! So it will feel like early spring again soon, and I have been ordering seeds and plants for the garden like mad. 🙂

      Like

  7. We always know it’s Spring here, when Mathair kicks into her spring cleaning frenzy. LOL! The meadowlark is a much nicer way of bringing Spring in. 😉 Beautiful images, Beth. Let’s hope spring fever can catch on with Mother Nature and this winter subsides.

    Like

Leave a Reply

