The Wisdom of John Adams and The American Revolution


John Adams was an amazing HBO production.  Extremely well done and historically right on. This is a fitting time of year to watch, or re-watch, it.

I’m an enormous  fan of John Adams, a brilliant man, and his brave wife Abigail. A remarkable woman whose wit and resourcefulness I much admire. What John and Abigail Adams and their children endured for the cause of freedom is unbelievable. And to think how taken for granted it is today.

I rented the John Adam series from Netflix, but it’s on sale at Amazon, so I just bought the DVD.  If you’re a fan of early American history,  this is for you.  But it ought to be viewed by every American to gain an appreciation of the sacrifices made by our founding fathers and mothers.  Sadly, many people don’t have a clue who has gone before them or what they accomplished, which is one reason I wrote Enemy of the King.  That and I’m passionate about the time period. Now, more than ever, Americans need to revisit their roots and remember what this country was meant to be. We need the wisdom of John Adams.

A link to the John Adams page at HBO.  Learn about the series and the history behind it.  For those of you who don’t know, Tom Hanks produced the series, and much of it was filmed in Virginia. In my own way, I feel like I’m still fighting for the Revolution, trying to keep the vital memories of it alive.

The theme song is glorious!

*For those of you interested in buying John AdamsAmazon has the DVD set.

Enemyoftheking_WebsiteMy historical romance novel set during the American Revolution, Enemy of the King, is at Amazon in print and Kindle. Also available from other online booksellers.

In writing Enemy of the King I spread beyond my Virginia home base and journeyed into North and South Carolina to research the Southern front of the Revolution. Enemy of the King is my version of The Patriot with ghostly flavors of Daphne Dumaurier’s Rebecca. Pleasant Grove, the home featured in my story, was drawn from Drayton Hall, the oldest preserved plantation in America open to the public, located outside the city of Charleston, SC. Part of the inspiration behind ‘Enemy’ came from research into my early American and British ancestors who fought on both sides of that sweeping conflict. One direct forebear five generations removed from me, Sam Houston, uncle of the famous Sam, fought in the Battle of Guilford Courthouse, NC and kept a diary still used by historians.

7 responses to “The Wisdom of John Adams and The American Revolution

  1. John and Abigail Adams are my favorite historical couple. I look forward to reading Enemy of the King.

    Like

  2. I have not seen that movie. Will have to see if I can find some where to rent it. I usually like anything Tom Hanks does. Always good. Great post Beth. Happy 4th of July.
    Sue B

    Like

  3. Pingback: “There are two types of education… | proAM#1

  4. julielrobinson

    This song with the pictures in the background gave me goose bumps! I love the music; it has a Celtic undertone to it. And rightly so. As you said, more people need to ‘revisit their roots and remember what this country was meant to be.” Beautifully said!

    Like

Leave a Reply

