The Short Story–Beth Trissel


Cover for the Lady and the WarriorApparently writing one is an offense according to some readers at Amazon and Goodreads who give one star reviews/ratings to The Lady and The Warrior simply because it’s short. Everywhere possible in the title’s description is the word short and the length given. Oh, and they feel jipped. Seriously? A cup of coffee costs more than .99 which, by the way, is the least Amazon will allow a title to sell for.

Some of the most famous and beloved stories in American and English literature are short.  All the greats wrote them along with novels. I wrote mine  to see if I could do it because before The Lady and the Warrior I had only written novels. It was quite a challenge to bring a story together in 14 pages. I labored over it for days and challenge anyone who thinks it’s easy to go for it. The Lady and the Warrior is also meant to give readers a taste of my longer works.  Will it ever be a full novel? I’m pondering on that possibility. But it shouldn’t have to be.

This excellent site has a list of classic short stories and authors, plus word count. Would you believe they’re all short? http://www.classicshorts.com/bib.html

15 responses to “The Short Story–Beth Trissel

  1. I understand how you feel, Beth. Trust me on that.

    Like

  2. Beth, people can be so frustrating, can’t they? Don’t let a few snarky people discourage you. I know it’s hard to overlook bad reviews even though you have so many wonderful ones. By the way, you didn’t answer my email about our new blog and an invitation for you to participate. If you don’t want to be a member, would you like to be a guest in June?

    Like

  3. I hate when people do that. I love to write and read short stories. They are perfect for ereaders or your phone. I can’t stand some of the complaints about the length of works. It isn’t as if people don’t know. I wish you the best with this book.

    If you think that a short story is a challenge… try a flash piece… only 250 words to tell a tantalizing scene.

    Like

  4. I am sorry Beth. Some people just complain no matter what. I think you are a wonderful writer.
    Sue B

    Like

  5. Well, I just bought it and I generally boycott Amazon. Short is an amazing challenge and well worth the 99-cents to support you.

    Like

  6. The thing these readers I think don’t understand is that authors have *always* been paid for short stories. We can just put them out ourselves now rather than going through the rigamarole of slushpiles. But then, readers don’t really know anything about what happened prior to the advent of Kindle Select. 😦

    Like

Leave a Reply

