“But he who dares not grasp the thorn Should never crave the rose.” ~Anne Brontë


beautiful pink roses“The rose speaks of love silently, in a language known only to the heart.”

*Roses from my garden

“You are responsible, forever, for what you have tamed. You are responsible for your rose.”  Antoine de Saint-Exupery

I’d rather have roses on my table than diamonds on my neck.  ~Emma Goldman

To be overcome by the fragrance of flowers is a delectable form of defeat.  ~Beverly Nichols

bright apricot roses“A single rose can be my garden…a single friend, my world.” ~Leo Buscaglia

“Perfumes are the feelings of flowers.”

~Heinrich HeineThe Hartz Journey

“Give me odorous at sunrise a garden of beautiful flowers where I can walk undisturbed.” ~Walt Whitman

“I perhaps owe having become a painter to flowers.” ~Claude Monet

rose“Love is like the wild rose-briar; Friendship like the holly-tree. The holly is dark when the rose-briar blooms, but which will bloom most constantly?” ― Emily BrontëThe Complete Poems

“A profusion of pink roses bending ragged in the rain speaks to me of all gentleness and its enduring.”  ~The Collected Later Poems of William Carlos Williams

‘”People from a planet without flowers would think we must be mad with joy the whole time to have such things about us.” ~Iris MurdochA Fairly Honourable Defeat

Abraham Darby Rose by David Austen“But he that dares not grasp the thorn Should never crave the rose.”~Anne Bronte

“And she was fair as is the rose in May.” ~ Geoffrey Chaucer

“They are not long, the days of wine and roses. Out of a misty dream, our path emerges for a while, then closes, within a dream.”  ― Ernest DowsonThe Poems and Prose of Ernest Dowson

2 responses to ““But he who dares not grasp the thorn Should never crave the rose.” ~Anne Brontë

  1. Beautiful roses. Those are nice sayings. I really liked this one:
    “A single rose can be my garden…a single friend, my world.” ~Leo Buscaglia

    Like

Leave a Reply

