“I purr, therefore I am.”–For Cat Lovers–Beth Trissel


“Ignorant people think it is the noise which fighting cats make that is so aggravating, but it ain’t so; it is the sickening grammar that they use.” ~ Mark Twain

(P. Cuthbert Wiggins, otherwise known as Percy the beloved)

“Most cats, when they are Out want to be In, and vice versa, and often simultaneously.”- Dr. Louis J. Camuti

There is, incidentally, no way of talking about cats that enables one to come off as a sane person. – Dan Greenberg

“Again I must remind you that a dog’s a dog–a cat’s a cat.” ~ T.S. Eliot

“There are no ordinary cats.” ~ Colette

(Newly arrived Pavel and the adored one, Sadie Sue)

“I purr, therefore I am.” ~ Anonymous

“A cat can maintain a position of curled up somnolence on your knee until you are nearly upright. To the last minute she hopes your conscience will get the better of you and you will settle down again.”- Pam Brown

“Cats like doors left open–in case they change their minds.”- Rosemary Nisbet

“The problem with cats is that they get the exact same look on their face whether they see a moth or an axe-murderer.” ~ Comedienne Paula Poundstone

“A cat is like a puzzle with no solution.” ~Anne Campbell

(Pavel actually NOT pestering Percy at this moment)

“Cat’s motto: No matter what you’ve done wrong, always try to make it look like the dog did it.” – Unknown

“There are few things in life more heartwarming than to be welcomed by a cat.” ~Tay Hohoff

“There is no single quality of the cat that man could not emulate to his advantage.” ~ Carl Van Vechten

“In a cat’s eye, all things belong to cats.” ~ English proverb

(Minnie Mae playing with or escaping from Pavel)

“There is no more intrepid explorer than a kitten.” ~ Jules Champfleury

“A cat is there when you call her – if she doesn’t have something better to do.”- Bill Adler

“Poets generally love cats–because poets have no delusions about their own superiority.”- Marion Garretty

“A Home without a cat, and a well-fed, well-petted and properly revered cat, may be a perfect home, perhaps, but how can it prove it’s title?” ~ Mark Twain

And a dog or two, I add.

(Pavel in a calm mode)

“Thousands of years ago, cats were worshipped as gods. Cats have never forgotten this.” – Anonymous

***For a collection of great cat quotes visit this swell site.

14 responses to ““I purr, therefore I am.”–For Cat Lovers–Beth Trissel

  1. What a fun post! As a lover of all animals and past owner of many cats, these quotes had it right. thanks for the smiles!

    Like

  2. Beppie Harrison

    What a wonderful post! Just spoke to my daughter in Boston — her cat loves to go out on the deck in all weathers. Well, there’s two and a half feet of snow there now (and still snowing), so she opened the door to demonstrate it was now impossible to go out. Cat apparently decided, “Well, all right then,” got up on his hind legs and started digging. Since she did not propose to have two and a half feet of snow INside the house, she shut the door. Firmly.

    Like

  3. Wonderful post, Beth. So very true. Our cat, Stanley owns everything here, but has favourites and woe to you, if you dare to place a cup or bag upon his beloved padded step stool(in the kitchen). He doesn’t necessarily want to sit there. but his rules state, “It must be clear just in case he should decide he wants to.” And the second rule is “keep Husband’s underwear drawer open at all times.” or listen to serious meowing complaints.
    Dory

    Like

  4. Of course I am sure you know I loved this post! LOL. Loved the kitty pictures!! A lot of those sayings I have not heard before. This one I have and it has always been my favorite:
    “I purr, therefore I am.” ~ Anonymous
    I believe my kitties say this to me all the time. LOL. I just adore kitties of all kinds. Their love is so unconditional.
    Sue B

    Like

  5. I loved those quotes, Beth. 🙂

    Like

  6. Great quotes Beth! I love how my cat talks to me when I talk to her!

    Like

  7. Pingback: Great Scenes – THE CAT — Isle of Cinema

  8. Very funny. Very true. These quotes made me smile.

    Like

Leave a Reply

