Romancing Your eReader Book Bash–Beth Trissel


Book Bash button resizedWelcome readers. Did you find a new e-reader under the tree? Have we got a sweet deal for you. 22 Authors – 27 E-book Romances – Two Grand Prize Winners! The contest runs the 27th to the 29th with winners announced the 30th.  

Visit Mac’s Mad Mania for the links to participating authors and be sure to leave her a comment. Leave me one too for the chance to win ghostly time travel romance novel Somewhere My Love and a shot at the grand prize. I’ll report into base camp when the contest is over and two grand prize winners will be drawn from those who left comments at all our blogs. Multiple opportunities await you. Let the fun begin. The comments can be in answer to the question I ask at the bottom of my post.

NEW SOMEWHERE MY LOVE COVER2More on Somewhere My Love:

Fated lovers have a rare chance to reclaim the love cruelly denied them in the past, but can they grasp this brief window in time before it’s too late?

Two hundred years ago Captain Cole Wentworth, the master of an elegant Virginian home, was murdered in his chamber where his portrait still hangs. Presently the estate is a family owned museum run by Will Wentworth, a man so uncannily identical to his ancestor that spirit-sensitive tour guide Julia Morrow has trouble recognizing Cole and Will as separate. As Julia begins to remember the events of Cole’s death, she must convince Will that history is repeating, and this time he has the starring role in the tragedy. The blade is about to fall.~

Ghostly night SkyI conceived the idea for my Somewhere in Time series about 6 years ago while watching one of my favorite British mysteries, Midsomer Murders.  I enjoy the historic setting of these modern day mysteries, but especially when the story flashes back to an earlier time period in an old manor house to get to the root of the mystery. So I thought, why not incorporate that with my love of romance and history.

Julia from Somewhere My LoveMoreover, I’m intrigued by ghost stories, and Virginia has more tales than any other state. I find myself asking if the folk who’ve gone before us are truly gone, or do some still have unfinished business in this realm? And what of the young lovers whose time was tragically cut short, do they somehow find a way?  Love conquers all, so I answer ‘yes.’  The theme behind ghostly, murder mystery romance Somewhere My Love, the first in my Somewhere in Time series.~
***My question: Who believes in ghosts, and have you ever seen one? 

65 responses to “Romancing Your eReader Book Bash–Beth Trissel

  1. Beth, thank you so much for participating in this awesome event! I haven’t met or seen any ghosts, but heard many ghost stories and know people who believe in ghosts. So with one part of myself i believe in ghosts. And love reading ghost stories too.
    tessa(dot)bamberg(at)kolumbus(dot)fi

    Like

  2. Hi, Beth. I think maybe I believe in ghosts, though I haven’t met any. We live across the road from a cemetery and before I realized that car headlights reflected off headstones, I often though ghosts were flitting around over there. It was kind of a disappointment to figure out the headlight thing. 🙂

    Like

    • Ha! Very funny. Thanks for that, Liz. Actually, although they are very creepy at night, cemeteries are not generally known for ghostly activity. Ghosts prefer spots they knew in life.

      Like

  3. yes I do . When I was about nine, almost every night for 3 months, I swear one visited me in my room. I told my mom what she looked like (the ghost) and she said it was my grandmother from the description.

    Like

  4. I lost my father in 1991, he was killed while turning into the driveway of my parents home. He was riding a moped and was hit from behind by a van. One night shortly after the accident, I was leaving my parent’s home with my two children in the car with me, as I started to back out of the driveway I felt this heaviness push down on me and I couldn’t make my leg move to push down on the gas anymore. As I turned my head I saw the brake lights of a vehicle but never the headlights–I think he didn’t have them on. If I had pulled out as I was trying to do there would have been another accident in the very same spot of my father’s accident and I fully believe he stopped my car that night to keep us safe.

    Yes, I believe in ghosts.

    Like

  5. Who believes in ghosts, and have you ever seen one?
    I do , I live a house where strange noises and things happen (112 year old farm house…So who knows…)

    BeckeyWhiteATgmailDOTcom

    Like

  6. Absolutely believe in them, but have never seen one, alas!

    Like

  7. I do believe in ghost very much I was at my moms sleeping woke up to find a lady in the door way and I know it wasn’t my mother because she was out of town

    Like

  8. I was visiting London on my own, and renting a tiny hotel room near Paddington station. One evening, I was in the bathroom removing my make up, and had left the door open. While standing there, I got this incredibly intense and quite unbearable feeling that someone was watching me from the main room. Eventually, it got so bad that I turned around and snapped “okay, enough already!!!”, and closed the door. The feeling disappeared. I might have imagined things, of course (in all honesty, I do have a vivid imagination), but I’d like to think I didn’t. Added to say, I’ve never actually seen anything, but I’ve often felt things, just like with the above. And in any case, I totally believe in ghosts – it makes life so much more interesting 🙂

    Like

    • Indeed it does, and I think those sorts of feelings count. Also, the location of your unusual incidence is most interesting because I’m watching the Agatha Christie mystery with Miss Marple, From Paddington.

      Like

      • Oooh! Love Miss Marple (even though Hercule Poirot is my absolute fav detective)! I always stay close to Paddington when I’m in London. Excellent connections via the lovely train station; charming, rather cheap hotels and close to everything makes it ideal for a holiday stay, methinks!

        Like

      • Kewl! Never been to London but am sure it would be awesome. I also like Poirot.

        Like

  9. I’ve had a couple encounters with ghosts. My dad’s old place that belonged to my great aunt before she died. Always something going on. Another ghost at a house in Florida I owned. I named her Mary. She would visit me on a daily basis. Saw standing over me in my bed, touching my face, shadows on walls, scaring the animals, banging on my closet door, etc. It was fun. She was more fun to live with than my ex. 🙂
    I have Somewhere to Love on my kindle, next in line to read.
    Campbellamyd at Gmail dot com

    Like

  10. I definitely believe in ghosts but I’ve never seen one. I lived in a house that had a noisy one. It used to thump up and down the stairs and one time threw a cupboard. I read Somewhere my love and put up reviews on amazon .uk /.es and goodreads for it. I loved it.

    p.winmill@hotmail.com

    Like

    • Thanks, Petula, for such an interesting story and the reviews and praise for Somewhere My Love. Much appreciated. If your ghost threw a cupboard and made a lot of noise, it sounds like a poltergeist.

      Like

  11. I believe in them, never seen one. (thankfully)

    reviewing.shelf@gmail.com

    Like

  12. No…but I think I’ve smelled one, and they stink. I toured a prison once, in Montana, and there was an error with an incredibly foul odor and I didn’t want to step farther…and I read in a book I purchased in the gift shop that it was sent reports of foul odors had been made in areas said to be haunted. tchevrestt(at)yahoo.com

    Like

  13. I do believe in ghosts and I have seen a few. A little girl haunts my parents house and I actually said hello to a ghost that answered me back. She stood at the top of the stairs at the apartments we once lived in. I didn’t know she was a ghost until I glanced down for a second and looked up and she was gone. There was nowhere she could have gone except into my apartment or down the stairs where I stood. It was unsettling at the time. She looked so solid.

    Like

  14. I guess that depends on what we mean by ‘ghosts’ – I felt the presence of my father for several days after his death, and he has appeared in my dreams, but I am skeptical of the kinds of apparitions that appear in movies, to people who have no real emotional connection with the departed.

    Like

  15. I do believe in ghosts and I have felt but not seen one.

    Melissa Snark
    P.O. Box 1347, Pleasanton, CA 94566
    email: melissasnark@gmail.com
    twitter: @MelissaSnark

    My website: Melissa Snark author site
    Today on my blog: The Ten Dollar Haircut

    Like

  16. I don’t believe in ghosts and haven’t seen ’em. There’s usually some logic to explain the unexplainable; some folks are quite imaginative. All that being said, there’s a lot of REAL scary stuff out there in the world…both worrisome and frightening.

    Like

  17. I’ve never truly seen a ghost, but I definitely believe that they exist.

    Like

  18. I don’t believe in ghosts, so it makes it kind of hard to see one.

    drainbamaged.gyzmo at gmail.com
    http://designerdata.webstarts.com

    Like

  19. I believe! I believe! Just in case a ghost is listening and wants to prove me wrong if I say I don’t!

    Like

  20. Beth,
    While reading through the latest posts I remembered something else that happened and wanted to share…Several years ago I was a Realtor in Michigan and I was helping a friend look for a new home. While touring one home in particular, the owner refused to leave while we went through which is rare in itself. But anyway, we came upon a door that had a heavy blanket and curtain over it and asked what was behind it. The owner said it was the basement and I asked if it was okay for us to go down, as we opened the door and took our first step the hairs on the back of my neck prickled and I can’t describe the feeling I got except it was very unsettling. My friend grabbed my arm at the same time and said “Don’t go down there.” I felt foolish but we practically ran from that house, we were so freaked out. When I got home that afternoon my friend called, she had done some research about the home and family only to discover that the lady’s husband had committed suicide in the basement. I am not sure this qualifies as a ghost, but there was something sinister that kept me from going further down those stairs. And I can’t imagine the ghosts she was living with in that home–real or imagined.

    Like

  21. When I was young, my great grandmother lived in a house that was built in 1901. It was in an old mining community in North Dakota. It was a small, mostly quiet that went belly up after my families coal mine did sometime in the late 60’s. As far back as I can remember, I was always terrified being alone in that house. Even if grandma was just outside…

    One summer, when I was about seven, I went down stairs for water in the middle of the night. As I was filling my cup, fear washed over me. I couldn’t move. I was scared to breathe. I had chills through my entire body.
    I chugged my water as fast I could, choking a bit as I threw the cup in the sink. I bolted up the stairs, down the hall and flew back into bed.

    I sat there for a moment, desperatly trying to catch my breath. That is when I heard the footsteps at the bottom of the stairs. I assumed that grandma had heard the chaos in the kitchen and came to check on me. That was until the footsteps stopped in the middle of the staircase. No one was there.
    I ran into my mom’s room crying. Needless to say, I slept with her for the rest of our stay there.

    Now, I have never seen a ghost. To be honest, I am happy about that fact. However, my experience that night made me a believer.

    Like

  22. Beth, I definitely believe in ghosts because I have seen several. You know I already have your book, so don’t enter me for that, but I would like to be entered for the grand prize, etc.

    Like

  23. Yes, I believe in ghosts, Beth. At my old house in MD, there was a ghost that many people heard, but never saw. You would hear someone going up the steps to the upstairs, and then walking. Also, keys jingling and the front door opening and closing. My daughters and I often thought someone had come home, only to find that no, no one had.

    Like

  24. Hi Beth. I wish I didn’t, but I grew up in a community build over a Civil War battlefield. Our house had many ghosts, some we could see, some we couldn’t but many that only made themselves known through mischievous noises and such. I was glad when we moved away from there. Yes, they are real. Lisa Hannah Wells

    Like

  25. You dont see ghosts with your eyes. You experince them through your belief. Beliving is seeing. In WV we have a lot of beleif among our folk lore and elders. I have seen many things by beliving including spirts good and bad. I have seen the memories of the past stored in the mountian and Rivers and I have met some guides along my path. I believe I see.

    kathewv@yahoo.com

    Like

  26. Yes, I have. The most emotional one was my Dad. He died four months before our daughter. I was putting a table away when the hair on the back of my neck raised. I turned around and he was standing by our dining room table by the chair he always sat in. He was only there for a second, but I knew he was there to tell me he would be there for our daughter that was dying from cancer. After his visit, it helped to deal with our double loss.

    I live in an area where the 1849 gold rush happened. There are a lot of ghosts around the town of Placerville and I encountered a lot of them – only one by sight but the others by their actions. I am definitely a believer. My angel daughter has definitely made herself known when we need her.

    Like

  27. My whole family have seen ghosts in one way or another. My husband is like a spirit magnet. Visitors leave coins all over his room. He’s been like that since he was a baby. I smell visitors. Usually its flower scents in my room, sometimes cigar smoke. I’ve only seen a ghost three times, but I hear them now and then. It doesn’t seem to matter where we live, they show up.

    Like

  28. I definitely believe in ghosts. I had a weird experience about 11 years ago. My boyfriend at the time, his father passed away and we were at his moms house. After numerous visitors we were finally able to lay down for the night. In the middle of the night when we were sleeping I woke up and I swear his dad was standing in the doorway and he smiled at me knowing things would be okay and that his family was going to be taken care of. It was eerie at the time but now I take it as a good thing. Also my brother passed away nine years ago and my niece and nephew who were only 5 and 8 at the time have told many stories of their dad and seeing him at night or in their room in the morning. I hope we are able to watch over our loved ones if we pass too early or have unfinished business.
    sbereza22@gmail.com

    Like

  29. First, my talented friend, I have all your books so don’t enter me. Share with those who’ve not yet fallen in love with your historicals and time travels.

    Second, my paternal grandfather died when I was in the first grade. All the younger grandkids were to stay at my grandparents’ home during the funeral while ladies from their church prepared a meal for family and close friends. We cousins were playing hide and seek in the large house. I was it and searching for everyone. I opened the door to my grandparents’ room and saw Granddad rifling through the top drawer of his chest of drawers. I called his name. He looked at me, held a finger over his lips in a “shushing” motion and returned to his search. Of course none of the adults believed me…

    Like

  30. I definitely believe in ghosts. I have never seen one, but I had one (or something) shake my shoulder to wake me up one morning when my son had gotten a blanket wrapped around his head.

    Like

  31. Winners! First prize goes to Melissa Snark at Babbette James’ blog. Second prize goes to Hilary at Denice Moncrief”s blog. Here I have awarded the eBook of Somewhere My Love to: Kayleigh, Tessa, Beckey, Lily, Shannon, Helen, Kat, Lisa Allen and Tara. Thanks everyone for your wonderful comments.

    Like

Leave a Reply

