Is Anybody Listening?–Beth Trissel


Do you sometimes feel you’re shouting into the wind?  How do you make yourself heard? Here are some excellent quotes. If these don’t work, I suggest barking loudly as that gains a response from our dogs. Although, in their defense, once I get them calmed down the dogs make excellent listeners and hang on my every word as if it really matters. And that may be the key. Listening works best when it’s reciprocal. With some individuals, that ain’t ever gonna happen. Am I a good listener? Are you? Well, I can be…
“It’s a rare person who wants to hear what he doesn’t want to hear.” ~Dick Cavett
(Dogs don’t want to hear what they don’t want to hear either)
“Many a man would rather you heard his story than granted his request.” ~ Phillip Stanhope, Earl of Chesterfield
“Effective questioning brings insight, which fuels curiosity, which cultivates wisdom.” ~ Chip Bell
“The most basic of all human needs is the need to understand and be understood. The best way to understand people is to listen to them.” ~ Ralph Nichols
“Bore, n.: A person who talks when you wish him to listen.” ~Ambrose Bierce
(Cats may not look like their listening, but little gets by them. They are, however, easily bored.)
“The best time to hold your tongue is the time you feel you must say something or bust.” ~ Josh Billings
“An actor’s a guy who if you ain’t talkin’ about him, ain’t listening.” ~ Marlon Brando
“I’ll defend to the death your right to say that, but I never said I’d listen to it!” ~ Tom Galloway
“When people talk, listen completely. Most people never listen.”~ Ernest Hemingway
(Ducks are friendly and very conversational)
Thus far, all of these insights are from men. In fact, almost the entire collection I found are male quotes. Perhaps men have a greater need to be heard, or maybe they lack the art of communication that comes more naturally to women. Here’s a good one from the female perspective.
“I think the one lesson I have learned is that there is no substitute for paying attention.” ~ Diane Sawyer
And another successful woman says:
“To learn through listening, practice it naively and actively. Naively means that you listen openly, ready to learn something, as opposed to listening defensively, ready to rebut. Listening actively means you acknowledge what you heard and act accordingly.” ~Betsy Sanders, Former Senior Vice President & General Manager Nordstrom
***To truly be heard, you may need a good dog.
“All his life he tried to be a good person. Many times, however, he failed. For after all, he was only human. He wasn’t a dog.”  ~Charles M. Schulz

17 responses to “Is Anybody Listening?–Beth Trissel

  1. Enjoyed your quotes, Beth. Doggies are wonderful listeners I found, and, without uttering a syllable, they are somehow in charge. Loved the picture of your dog. Reminds me of my neighbor’s rescue dog, who took about a year to accept a cookie from me.
    Mary

    Like

  2. Awesome Miss Beth! My mother often told me that I needed to be a better listener throughout my late 20s and early 30s. I think these were the years I wanted to show everyone how much I thought I knew while attending college and after a timid childhood and long periods of feeling squelched by a bullying older sister and ignored by an inattentive father. I’ve since quieted my need to be heard and have become a much better listener; not waiting or anticipating the next pause to interject my thoughts or opinions during conversations and I know people find me much more pleasing to speak to and with. 😉 I also know that I certainly enjoy listening to you as I read your discussion boards. I too have a dog, a Boxer named Luna and she has also taught me a thing or two about being a good listener. Love that girl! Great topic, Miss Beth! Listening with our hearts connects us all! ❤

    Like

    • Thanks so much Dayna. We can learn a lot from dogs. I really appreciate your comments and don’t know why you wound up in my spam folder but I always check because sometimes ‘real people’ do.

      Like

  3. Awesome Miss Beth! Thanks to my Boxer Luna and growing out of my 20s and 30s and into my 40s, I am a much better listener! 🙂
    Great topic! Listening with the heart connects us all. ❤

    Like

  4. I feel like that all the time. Maybe I need to start barking. LOL. This is truely my kitties~Cats may not look like their listening, but little gets by them. They are, however, easily bored. This one was my favorite~“I’ll defend to the death your right to say that, but I never said I’d listen to it!” ~ Tom Galloway. Great post Beth.
    Sue B

    Like

  5. Posted twice because I could not see initial post on server after entering it~pardon the repetition 😉

    Like

  6. Bizarre things have been happening with the server lately; as if it’s not recognizing me since in installed my photo on Gravatar. (???) Oooh sounds like a Halloween mystery, Miss Beth! lol Little gobblins in the system! lol Boooooooo!!! :-O oooooohhh!!! Hope I don’t end up back in your spam page again because I like talking with you too!

    Like

  7. This is why I’ve been logging on through my Facebook account ~ you’re not getting away that easy Miss Lady! lol

    Like

  8. It could also be a glitch in Word Press. (I dunno?)

    Like

  9. Outstanding Quotes.

    Like

Leave a Reply

