New Contemporary Romance The Chief’s Proposal by Sandra Dailey–Beth Trissel


Thank you for inviting me to your blog today, Beth. I love visiting here as much to see the beautiful art as to read your posts. We have a common love of Native Americans. *Delighted to have you, Sandra, and we certainly do.

Here in Florida, as well as Georgia, we have communities of mixed Natives. Originally they were runaways from the Trail of Tears that hid in the swamplands. At the time they were called renegades. I like to think of them as survivors.

The swamps many be beautiful on postcards, but in reality, they can be treacherous. Alligators, snakes, panthers and more dangerous wildlife still lurk there. Natural gas under the surface can explode into wild fires when lightning strikes. It’s a miracle these people survived much less made it their home.

*I totally hear you. My grandson and I watch Swamp People together.

In my new release, The Chief’s Proposal, my hero is the next leader of such a band. His devotion and protection extends to the town of Three Threes, Georgia where he’s the sheriff. When re-election time rolls around, the town wants a family man in the position. Brett was burned by love once and doesn’t want to try it a second time. Still, he can’t turn his back and let a devious defense attorney take the position from him. He decides to kill two birds with one stone. The high school needs a new teacher and he needs a wife.

Ginny Dearing, from Saginaw, Michigan, has her degree in education, but she’s crippled by the economy and unemployment. Her only hope is a position hundreds of miles away. Moving to Georgia would make her dream come true and take her far from her turbulent past, but marrying a stranger is a terrifying necessity.

How can two such different people share one year as husband and wife?

*I love the premise for this story!

A blurb from just after their wedding:

“Why do we need a fire?” Ginny asked.

“We need all the elements.” Brett motioned toward the lake, the sky, the ground, and back to the fire as he said, “Water, air, earth and fire.”

“Is this a Native American thing?”

Brett lowered his head and shook it. It was becoming a gesture she recognized as him gathering patience. He did it a lot around her.

“Yeah, in your language this would be called a truth telling.”

“What would your people call it?”

“A truth telling. Now will you pay attention?”

Brett stretched out on the blanket with his head resting on his saddle. “Come down here and make yourself comfortable.”

Ginny copied his pose, and then asked, “What’s next?”

“I’m going to ask you a question and you have to answer it, honestly and completely. After that, I’ll answer a question you have. What is said will stay here when we leave.”

“What’s your question?”

Brett turned his head to look at her. She’d never seen him look so serious.

“Why is it such a bad thing to be married to me? I know I’m no prize, but you look as if you’ve just received a death sentence.”

Ginny thought for a long moment. “I don’t know if it will be bad. I don’t really know you. I just hadn’t imagined myself being married to anyone, ever.”

*Sounds great, Sandra. 

The Chief’s Proposal is available at The Wild Rose Press, Amazon, Barnes & Noble

Visit Sandra at: www.sandradailey.com

www.sandradailey.blogspot.com

www.facebook.com/sandradailey.author

26 responses to “New Contemporary Romance The Chief’s Proposal by Sandra Dailey–Beth Trissel

  1. Thanks for having me on your blog, Beth. I always get lost, looking at your beautiful pictures. But, I’ll try to pay attention today.

    Like

  2. Great interview. I loved the excerpt.

    Like

  3. OH, I love Brett already! Great premise – all kinds of room for conflict, hehe.

    We lived in Florida (Wauchula, ever heard of it? LOL) for a few years, and the worst part was all the deadly critters. I actually got in the habit of shaking out my shoes before sticking my foot in. And I rescued my cat from a pygmy rattle snake in the kitchen – or maybe I rescued the snake?

    I’m much happier up here in the frozen north!

    Like

  4. Sandra…thanks for sharing the excerpt with us. It sounds like an intriguing story. How will those two ever come together?!

    So many things in nature, like the swamp, seem so beautiful but can be so deadly.

    Like

  5. What’s up with you light-weights? I love our critters! I’ve seen rattlers up to six feet long, (yummy eats), and gators up to twenty feet, (also yummy).

    Like

  6. I didn’t get a chance to mention that The Chief’s Proposal is also available on Barnes & Noble now.

    Thanks for your likes, girls!

    Like

  7. Hi Sandra. I’m up for tasting new things but I’ve never had ‘gator before! Best wishes for the rest of your tour!

    Like

  8. Thanks Nancy, I hope your tour for Take Me Now is also going well. I look forward to The Beltane Choice, (shameless promo for a friend).

    Like

  9. Awesome excerpt, I love the dynamics between them!

    Like

  10. Adding to my wish list!

    Like

  11. Sanda, this story sounds wonderful. And what a beautiful cover! 🙂

    Like

  12. Hi, Sandra and Beth. I, too, love Native Americans, and “The Chief’s Proposal” sounds like a wonderful read. Congratulations on your new release, Sandra 😀 Gorgeous man at the end of your post doesn’t hurt, either 😉

    Like

  13. Beth, thank you again for having me on your blog. It was a blast.
    In case you ever decide to check it out – you only eat the tails of the gators and make sure the rattlers don’t bite themselves before they die. It’ll poison the meat. Both are great deep fried. After all, this is the south 😉

    Like

  14. Posting late, but really liked the premise of you story. Interesting interview. Thanks for sharing and best of luck with the new release!

    Like

Leave a Reply

