People with Goats Succeed!


I saw this quote: “People with goals succeed because they know where they’re going.” E. Nightingale–But I read goals as goats, which got me to thinking.  Would it really make all that much difference, goats, goals???  Either one gives you purpose and sure as heck keeps you busy.  Ever tried to confine a goat?  They’re escape artists.  We once had a baby goat (for a short time) living in one of our calf pens with a calf, of course.  But the noisy kid didn’t want to hang out with the calf and bleated most pitiably which is why he went to live with the goat clan.  It was either that, or import a flock to keep him company and goat-proof all our fences…if that’s possible.

Other great quotes for motivation:

One needs something to believe in, something for which one can have whole-hearted enthusiasm. One needs to feel that one’s life has meaning, that one is needed in this world.” –Hannah Senesh

Again, this is very true, and again, goats might well provide that.

“Many people have a wrong idea of what constitutes true happiness. It is not attained through self-gratification, but through fidelity to a worthy purpose.” —Helen Keller

Such as keeping goats.  I also suggest gardening, which is a worthy purpose  and can be quite gratifying, depending on the vagaries of weather, bugs, and whether the goats have gotten out and eaten everything…or the cows…or (insert name of varmint here).  I’ve had many trials in gardening, also inestimable rewards.

“I have learned, that if one advances confidently in the direction of his dreams, and endeavors to live the life he has imagined, he will meet with a success unexpected in common hours.”Henry David Thoreau

And he may well meet with escaped cows galloping through his yard and garden, or goats.

By all means, count me in for the unexpected success.  I’m up for nice surprises. But am more likely to encounter cows out, or barnyard geese too near the road–again.

Remember, when the going gets tough, the tough get goats!

And, People without goats are going nowhere.

(These particular cows are in our meadow where they belong. Image of me and daughter Elise on a walk)

***Royalty free images of goats

15 responses to “People with Goats Succeed!

  1. It does work with goats, Beth.

    Like

  2. I love your posts, but imagine you are tired of hearing me say this. 🙂

    I agree on the quote: “I have learned, that if one advances confidently in the direction of his dreams, and endeavors to live the life he has imagined, he will meet with a success unexpected in common hours.” –Henry David Thoreau

    I know that I’ve spoken before on giving quilts in my daughter’s memory. This has taken me into a place of unexpected joy. There is something about giving a gift from your heart without expectation of anything in return. A smile is nice, but some people don’t know how to say thank you. I don’t put any strings on my gifts because just giving is gift enough.

    Like

  3. So, now I’ve decided that goats are the answers to all my current insanity. I wonder if I could have them in the city limits… 🙂

    Like

  4. Thanks for a laugh, Beth. When I’m tired, I sometimes misread a sign. Near my daughter is a sign that says “Philly Cheesesteak” and at first I thought it said cheesecake and wondered what was different about cheesecake in Philadelphia. And I’d love to have a few mohair goats, but my sensible husband is against it. Same daughter, Bea, wants me to have a couple of llamas in the meadow. At least they can defend themselves against coyotes, but I still think I’ll resist. I think I’ll just write and promote and promote and promote. Doesn’t it seem we spend more time promoting than writing?

    Like

  5. Hey Beth, Here’s my way to connect goats, motivation, and nature:

    “Mother Earth, you’re my life support system. As a soldier I must drink your blue water, live inside your red clay and eat your green skin. Help me to balance myself. As you hold in balance, the Earth, the sea, and the space environments. Help me to open my heart, knowing that the Universe will feed me. I pray my boots will always kiss your face, and my footsteps match your heartbeat. Carry my body through space and time. You’re my connection to the Universe and all that comes after. I’m yours and you are mine. I salute you.”

    from Bill Django in The Men Who Stare at Goats
    http://www.imdb.com/title/tt1234548/quotes?qt=qt1214577

    🙂

    Like

  6. I misread signs and quotes a lot, too. It comes with multitasking and parenting a young child. It’s always great when it leads to some inspiration! Fun post–I enjoyed it. 🙂

    Like

  7. So true about goats! My sister has goats…I don’t! 🙂

    Like

  8. Pingback: We Do Not Need Baby Goats | Seattle Foodshed

Leave a Reply

