“The ideal of calm exists in a sitting cat.” ~ Jules Reynard


“Ignorant people think it is the noise which fighting cats make that is so aggravating, but it ain’t so; it is the sickening grammar that they use.” ~ Mark Twain

(P. Cuthbert Wiggins, otherwise known as Percy the beloved)

“Again I must remind you that a dog’s a dog–a cat’s a cat.” ~ T.S. Eliot

“There are no ordinary cats.” ~ Colette

(Newly arrived Pavel and the adored one, Sadie Sue)

“I purr, therefore I am.” ~ Anonymous

“The problem with cats is that they get the exact same look on their face whether they see a moth or an axe-murderer.” ~ Comedienne Paula Poundstone

“A cat is like a puzzle with no solution.” ~Anne Campbell

(Pavel actually NOT pestering Percy at this moment)

“There are few things in life more heartwarming than to be welcomed by a cat.” ~Tay Hohoff

“There is no single quality of the cat that man could not emulate to his advantage.” ~ Carl Van Vechten

“In a cat’s eye, all things belong to cats.” ~ English proverb

(Minnie Mae playing with or escaping from Pavel)

“There is no more intrepid explorer than a kitten.” ~ Jules Champfleury

“A Home without a cat, and a well-fed, well-petted and properly revered cat, may be a perfect home, perhaps, but how can it prove it’s title?” ~ Mark Twain

And a dog or two, I add.

(Pavel in a calm mode)

***For a collection of great cat quotes visit this swell site.


8 responses to ““The ideal of calm exists in a sitting cat.” ~ Jules Reynard

  1. Really love this one. It’s so true.
    “There are few things in life more heartwarming than to be welcomed by a cat.” ~Tay Hohoff
    My kitties always welcome me. Sometimes when I am sleeping too. LOL.

    Like

  2. Fabulous quotes, Beth. And lovely photos. It looks like little Pavel keeps everyone else on their toes… 😉
    As I type, Bob & Tiger, my two cats, are snoozing next to me on the sofa. Bob on the seat beside me, Tiger behind me at my back. A rare moment of bliss!

    Like

  3. Beth, I love cats and enjoyed this post. Patsy Parker has a new book supposedly written by her cat and titled CONFUSIUS CAT SAYS. We aren’t the only cat lovers.

    Like

  4. Hello furriends ;”)

    Like

Leave a Reply

