Who, being loved, is poor? ~Oscar Wilde and Other Quotes and Images


Ah me!  Love can not be cured by herbs. ~ Ovid

Love must be as much a light, as it is a flame.  ~Henry David Thoreau

We loved with a love that was more than love.  ~Edgar Allan Poe

Do I love you because you’re beautiful,
Or are you beautiful because I love you?
~Richard Rodgers and Oscar Hammerstein II, Cinderella

Love is much like a wild rose, beautiful and calm, but willing to draw blood in its defense.  ~Mark Overby

Let your love be like the misty rains, coming softly, but flooding the river.  ~Malagasy Proverb

Love – a wildly misunderstood although highly desirable malfunction of the heart which weakens the brain, causes eyes to sparkle, cheeks to glow, blood pressure to rise and the lips to pucker.  ~Author Unknown

Love one another and you will be happy.  It’s as simple and as difficult as that.  ~Michael Leunig

The hours I spend with you I look upon as sort of a perfumed garden, a dim twilight, and a fountain singing to it.  You and you alone make me feel that I am alive.  Other men it is said have seen angels, but I have seen thee and thou art enough.  ~George Moore

Absence diminishes small loves and increases great ones, as the wind blows out the candle and fans the bonfire.  ~François Duc de La Rochefoucauld

We choose those we like; with those we love, we have no say in the matter.  ~Mignon McLaughlin, The Neurotic’s Notebook, 1960

Love is, above all, the gift of oneself.  ~Jean Anouilh

Anyone can be passionate, but it takes real lovers to be silly.  ~Rose Franken

Love is like dew that falls on both nettles and lilies.  ~Swedish Proverb

It is astonishing how little one feels alone when one loves.  ~John Bulwer

‘Tis sweet to know there is an eye will mark our coming, and look brighter when we come.  ~Lord Byron

Sometimes the shortest distance between two points is a winding path walked arm in arm.  ~Robert Brault, www.robertbrault.com

Love is the poetry of the senses.  ~Honoré de Balzac

Love is a game that two can play and both win.  ~Eva Gabor

Without love, the rich and poor live in the same house.  ~Author Unknown

We don’t believe in rheumatism and true love until after the first attack.  ~Marie Ebner Von Eschenbach, Aphorism

True love is like ghosts, which everyone talks about and few have seen.  ~François, duc de La Rochefoucauld

Romance is the glamour which turns the dust of everyday life into a golden haze.  ~Elinor Glyn

16 responses to “Who, being loved, is poor? ~Oscar Wilde and Other Quotes and Images

  1. What lovely quotes and beautiful photos. Thanks for sharing. Mini vacation. 🙂

    Like

  2. I really enjoyed reading the quotes…thank you! I plan to write down my favourites.

    Like

  3. Pretty flowers. Those quotes are wonderful.

    Like

  4. lynnemarshall2

    Ah the golden haze. Thanks so much for putting together all of these wonderful quotes. When I was young I thought love was about pining and yearning and sadness. I’m so glad I matured and realized the rich blessing that love is.

    Thanks for sharing these thoughts with us.

    Like

  5. Great quotes! I hadn’t seen some of these before. Thanks for sharing them.

    Like

  6. Beautiful. I know this is going to sound weird, well maybe not coming from me, but I swear I can smell those roses. For real…do you have some kind of magic way to send fragrance through your wonderful website, Beth?

    Like

  7. The rose pics really grabbed my attention. Great quotes too. The world can never have enough love.

    Like

  8. Pingback: I Love You « My Pathetic Attempts At Love

  9. Pingback: THE DESIRE « Life is Mysterious

Leave a Reply

