“You can’t help that. We’re all mad here.”- The Cheshire Cat and Our Latest Cat Tale


This past week we had a kitty scare (well, I did) after my hubby went down into the cellar–quite old, as this house was built in the 1870’s, as is clear from the earth and stonewalled dugout in the bowels of the house–and forgot to shut the door.  Light shows through some chinks in the stone walls, worsened by last year’s earthquake.  We (at least, daughter Elise and I) always take care to shut the door so our curious cats do not venture down there, and, as it turned out, two of them did.

I was at work on my laptop when I heard a funny cry. At first I thought it might be a baby, then decided it was coming from a cat, probably our Siamese tabby mix as the Siamese make those peculiar cries, although Pavel (pronounced Pabel) rarely has.  I couldn’t determine where the sounds were emanating from, though.  The search began in earnest and Pavel was no where to be found.  And our noble, deeply affectionate, gray tabby Percy (P. Cuthbert Wiggins) was also missing.  Being the more adventurous of the two, Percy had ventured outside through the larger chink in the cellar where, after frantic searching, I found him hiding under a bush beside the house. He hadn’t gone far and our two farm dogs were watching over him.

After a great deal more searching and following those strange cries, Elise finally located Pavel in the cellar beneath the old wooden bin used to store potatoes back in its day. But I rarely venture down there to store anything, far too creepy.  I suspect the monster from Star Wars resides in the cellar, along with all sorts of other creatures and the bones of their victims. Some might ask why not close up the chink?  I’m not entirely certain what we might be closing in.  I’d rather guard the door.

*Images of Pavel taken by Elise

13 responses to ““You can’t help that. We’re all mad here.”- The Cheshire Cat and Our Latest Cat Tale

  1. So glad all’s well that ends well. 🙂

    Like

  2. I’m so happy you found them. Our dogs used to dig their way under the fence and I was always in panic mode until we found them.

    Like

  3. I’m glad the boys are both safe. Cellars with nooks and crannies (as Scots call them) are dangerous if tempting places to explore.
    I’m always worried Tiger gets locked into a shed in the garden of next door’s kids nursery. He was caught in there once, for a night. Seeing his paw poke out under the door the next morning, we rushed to alert the staff. He pounced out, past us, straight into our garden. Silly kitty!
    Aww, we do love our pets, and we do worry about them.

    Like

    • Yes indeed. And thanks for sharing that about your Tiger pal. I’ve made up a fitting rhyme for Pavel; “Pavel’s silly, Pavel’s sweet. Pavel’s always under (my) feet…” It seems we’re always playing tag only I forget. He doesn’t, and races around, tags me with his paw. I’m supposed to say, “Get the kitty,” and chase after him.

      Like

  4. Glad your kitties are safe. I would of been frantic.

    Like

  5. Glad your kitties were all right. They are curious, and we try to take head count before we leave the house. Once our big cat accidentally was shut inside our closed for several hours. And our shy tabby got closed outside when my husband left the front door unlatched to walk to the mailbox. She came back in the next day after I’d looked everywhere inside and outside for her. She won’t even go near the front door now, so I think she was very frightened out there, poor baby.

    Like

  6. So glad there’s a happy ending. One of our cats recently ventured into the attic (my fault as I didn’t close the main door first) He had a grand time while I fought a panic attack until I got him out.

    Like

  7. Pingback: My Cats & Caboodle.. « PrefacMe

Leave a Reply

