Wintry Quotes & Pics


 

The North Wind Doth Blow ~ traditional

“The north wind doth blow, And we shall have snow, And what will poor robin do then, Poor thing?

He’ll sit in a barn, And keep himself warm, And hide his head under his wing, Poor thing.”

 

Stopping by Woods on a Snowy Evening

by Robert Frost

Whose woods these are I think I know. His house is in the village though; He will not see me stopping here To watch his woods fill up with snow.

My little horse must think it queer To stop without a farmhouse near Between the woods and frozen lake The darkest evening of the year. He gives his harness bells a shake To ask if there is some mistake. The only other sound’s the sweep Of easy wind and downy flake.

The woods are lovely, dark and deep. But I have promises to keep, And miles to go before I sleep, And miles to go before I sleep.~

“There is a privacy about it which no other season gives you…. In spring, summer and fall people sort of have an open season on each other; only in the winter, in the country, can you have longer, quiet stretches when you can savor belonging to yourself.” ~Ruth Stout

First Snow by Marie Louise Allen

“Snow makes whiteness where it falls. The bushes look like popcorn-balls. The places where I always play Look like somewhere else today.”~

Snowball by Shel Silverstein

“I made myself a snow ball as perfect as could be. I thought I’d keep it as a pet and let it sleep with me. I made it some pajamas and a pillow for it’s head. Then, last night it ran away. But first — it wet the bed.”~

“Winter is the time of promise because there is so little to do – or because you can now and then permit yourself the luxury of thinking so.”  ~Stanley Crawford

“I like these cold, gray winter days.  Days like these let you savor a bad mood.” ~Bill Watterson

“Every mile is two in winter.”  ~George Herbert

“Winter is the time for comfort, for good food and warmth, for the touch of a friendly hand and for a talk beside the fire:  it is the time for home.”

~Edith Sitwell

“Brew me a cup for a winter’s night.
For the wind howls loud and the furies fight;
Spice it with love and stir it with care,
And I’ll toast our bright eyes,
my sweetheart fair.”
~Minna Thomas Antrim

“Let us love winter, for it is the spring of genius.”  ~Pietro Aretino

“Of winter’s lifeless world each tree
Now seems a perfect part;
Yet each one holds summer’s secret
Deep down within its heart.”
~Charles G. Stater

“Winter came down to our home one night

Quietly pirouetting in on silvery-toed slippers of snow,

And we, we were children once again.”

~Bill Morgan, Jr.

“Winter is the season in which people try to keep the house as warm as it was in the summer, when they complained about the heat.” ~Author Unknown

Our back yard, our front yard, our farm pond, tiny church in Singers Glen, VA.

11 responses to “Wintry Quotes & Pics

  1. Beautiful photographs, Beth.

    Like

  2. Lovely photos!!!! I LOVE Snow…especially now that I’m retired. lol

    Like

  3. Lovely words & photos. I look at the pictures and forget that I don’t like cold weather.
    My husband’s parents used to have a summer house in Round Hill, Virginia that I’ve used as a setting in a book that I’m about to publish. Are you familiar with that area?

    Like

  4. What a lovely collection of poems. I don’t like winter, but these do make it something soft , sort of mysterious and romantic. Thanks Beth.

    Like

  5. Beautiful post and photos. Thanks!

    Like

  6. You are welcome. Glad you enjoyed them.

    Like

  7. Pingback: Seasons: Fury or Bliss? « Muse In The Valley

Leave a Reply

