Dragon Wings, Fairy Dust, and Other Childhood Whimsies


“There is a garden in every childhood, an enchanted place where colors are brighter, the air softer, and the morning more fragrant than ever again.” ~Elizabeth Lawrence 

*Image of my grandson Colin and grandbaby Chloe taken by their mother, my older daughter Alison who is also a very good photographer

When I was a child, I badly wanted to fly.  After a Sunday School lesson on faith moving mountains I summoned up all my faith and jumped off a large boulder in the Smokies.  Fortunately I landed on a grassy spot–had to rethink my position on exactly what qualified for doing under the faith thing.  I was ten and probably should have known better but was a highly imaginative, some might say strange child.  Of course, many children have sought to fly.  If I’d had fairy (or pixie) dust I would have dusted myself with sparkles, being very taken with the tale of Peter Pan.

The latest member of our family to be fixated on flight is my grandson Colin, always worrying us with his antics while amusing us with his whimsies.  Another imaginative child, also rather a daredevil and one to keep a close eye on and send up frequent prayers for.  He knows he makes me ‘nervous’ used to be pronounced ‘ervous.’

Sweet childish days, that were as long
As twenty days are now.
~William Wordsworth, “To a Butterfly”

A recent conversation between Colin and his mom, Alison, on a familiar theme:

Colin:  “I’m finking about dragon wings.”

Alison: “Why?”

Colin: “To make for me.”

Alison: “Oh, to wear for Halloween?”

Colin: “No, for flying.”

Alison: “Colin, again, even IF we made you dragon wings, you still couldn’t fly.  Boys can’t fly ever at all.  What would happen?”

Colin repeats what she’s taught him.  “I would fall wike a rock.”

Alison says, ‘Boys being able to fly is something we’ve had many an argument  about, ever since Colin could speak in sentences.  “Boys tend to fly on the couch.  They just put their arms out and they tend to fly.”  He’s always trying to think of some sort of way to make it possible.  He’s thought of making bird wings and jumping off the deck.  “I would soar wike an eagle!!” he declared.

His mom: “You would fall like a rock.  Boys can’t fly.”

Ah, but somehow, someway…boys keep trying.

*Image of Alison and Colin looking down from their deck where they have these sorts of conversations, although they can take place anywhere.  He’d also very much like to have a real Spiderman action figure that shoots out REAL webs, we suspect to use for flying.

“Childhood is measured out by sounds and smells and sights, before the dark hour of reason grows.” ~John Betjeman, Summoned by Bells

6 responses to “Dragon Wings, Fairy Dust, and Other Childhood Whimsies

  1. Your post reminds me of the unlimited potential children have. I laugh because I am still trying to fly and bored stiff from air plane rides. Seems to me that you may be raising several generations of writers! Fun post and really enjoyed the images. Well done.

    Like

  2. Not just boys, Beth. Our minister’s daughter broke her arm trying to fly. I remember pinning a red bath towel to my shoulders and jumping from a tree to fly like Supermam. When I crashed, I was convinced the reason was that the towel had faded. My mom could not convince me otherwise, but she believed in swatting my behind and that convinced me not to use the towels again. ;-o

    Like

  3. What a delightful blog post! I really enjoyed it and memories of my own”flying” days.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

