The Amazing benefits of Green Tea


“Tea began as a medicine and grew into a beverage.” ~KAKUZO OKAKURA, Book of Tea

I’ve been a tea lover for years, but for me now, it’s medicine first and a beverage second.  Tea is also soul satisfying and hearkens back to long-held traditions.  What’s more civilized than sharing a steaming cup of tea?   Little did I realize it would come to play such an important role in my health when worsening, inexplicable anemia had my family doctor insisting I pay a visit to the hematologist.  After a lot of blood work and a  bone marrow biopsy, he floored me with the diagnosis of T-Cell LGL Leukemia, a rare form of chronic leukemia, in May of 2010.   I knew something was wrong, had been for some time, and must have sensed it was some kind  of blood disorder because vampires chased me through my dreams, and not the sexy kind who are so popular these days.  Advised to anticipate slow deterioration until I required treatment, which would be postponed until I got really bad since the treatment was worse than the disease, I was sent home to wait to get worse and return for frequent check ups.

Nothing if not determined, I spent hours (days) online researching everything and anything that might help me ward off the inevitable.   Then I came across a clinical study by the Mayo Clinic using green tea extract  to  slow or even reverse symptoms in a different form of chronic leukemia,  an even worse kind.  So I thought if the extract would work for that type, why not mine?  As I didn’t have access to their specially formulated concoction I decided just to drink a lot of green tea.  Next followed a lot of research into the proper way to brew the tea to achieve maximum health benefits.

Note, water for green tea should be brought to just below the boil.  Boiling water will not make as good tasting or beneficial a cup.   To achieve this temperature, I ordered an electric tea kettle from Amazon that has settings for green tea and regular tea or instant coffee, whatever you need boiling water for.   I can’t find the exact one over there anymore but here’s a list of choices.  Also be careful not to over-steep the tea, brew for 1-3 minutes and try to drink within half an hour as the quality deteriorates rapidly.  Bottled tea has little benefits at all.  Also, caffeinated tea has the most beneficial properties, so if you drink decaf you will need twice as much.  Then I experimented with different varieties and settled on one main kind: Yogi Green Tea Kombucha  *Kombucha is also very beneficial.  I drink two quarts of freshly brewed green tea every day.  It has a refreshing fruity flavor and I add extra mint to it–soothing to the stomach.  I also like a loose leaf citrus variety I get from Mighty Leaf Tea.

I should also mention the importance of Olive Leaf extract which I came across on a leukemia message board.  I get mine from Olivus online (their best quality capsules) and take one three times a day–the maximum dose.   I began with one capsule and worked my way up.  Olive leaf helps with many things, including being a powerful immune booster and can aid blood levels.  To this I add Vitamin C and TOCQ10 supplements–also on the message board.  The only contraindications I know of for olive leaf are that you shouldn’t take it if you on on a blood thinner because it also thins the blood.  And it can interfere with the effectiveness of an antibiotic so take it at a different time of day.

My report, slowly but surely my blood levels have improved over the months until this December they were the best yet.  My red blood count is up to normal levels, the white count is respectable, and  there’s a substantial decrease in my lymphocyte levels.  My lymph nodes are undetectable and there’s no inflamation in my spleen or liver.  Is it all the green tea and olive leaf I’m taking?  My hematologist has no other explanation for why I’m doing so much better than expected.  All I can say is thank God for leading me to this discovery.

*Disclaimer.  This is my story.  Not a scientific study.  Make of it what you will. *Olive leaf can make you worse before it makes you better as it cleanses toxins. *I sweeten my tea with a little raw honey–also healthful–or plain sugar. Artificial sweeteners are incredibly bad for you.

“Tea … is one of those rare treasures, enjoyed throughout the world, that actually benefits health.” ~KIT CHOW, All the Tea in China

Green tea Fields IV“Ever since tea was first discovered, its cultivation and consumption have been encouraged because of its apparent ability to ward off disease, strengthen powers of concentration, cleanse the body, and aid digestion. Legends of its medicinal properties reached Europe and the New World from China, intriguing the Western consumer, and now, centuries later, modern research has begun to confirm many of those early beliefs.”

~JANE PETTIGREW, forward, New Tastes in Green Tea

“Tea beckons us to enjoy quality time with friends and loved ones, and especially to rediscover the art of relaxed conversation.”

~DOROTHEA JOHNSON, Tea & Etiquette

“Tea is the most popular beverage, after water, throughout the world.”

~LESTER MITSCHER, The Green Tea Book

“Tea is hot and getting hotter. From iced to spiced, from austere black tea to sweetened and milky chai, from a flowery pick-me-up to a healing herbal, no other beverage has such a place in the heart of every civilization. No wonder it is the most popular beverage in the world, next to water.” 

~SARA PERRY, The New Tea Book

26 responses to “The Amazing benefits of Green Tea

  1. What a fantastic story! Congratulations for finding a solution. You rock! I’ve become something of a tea enthusiast myself — for similar reasons, not leukemia, but like issues. I get my tea from The Tao of Tea online (they get their teas by the loose leaf from around the world). I recently started scouting Ginseng. It tastes terrible. It’s hard to find. There’s an American variety that is supposed to be the absolute best. Well, just wanted to chime in and wish you the best and say thanks for sharing. This one is to bookmark.

    Like

  2. Beth ~ I can’t wait to try this out for myself. ‘Tis difficult with the crazy hours, but plan on implementing it as soon as I can. I’ve taken to drinking coffee starting from the time I get into work (5:30) and drinking 3 cups between then and 1 am. Maybe the green tea will help with staying awake, too. 🙂

    Like

    • You could get one of these electric kettles with the temperature settings and take that to work and take your tea bags with you. The loose leaf kind you better do at home. But I should think this would work. Coffee is also beneficial in some ways so you don’t have to give it up entirely. I have but that’s because it upsets my stomach.

      Like

      • I could, but honestly it’s a pain to get stuff like that through security – working nukes you’ve got to go through two hand readers, put your stuff through the x-ray machine, go through metal detector and bomb sniffer. Seriously. I get the need for it, but it’s still a pain to drag a bunch of stuff into work. I’ll probably have to resort to microwave and tea bags and take my chances. Now if I could just remember to pick up green tea. 🙂

        Like

      • Good heavens Keiti. That does sound like a lot! Good luck. Once you had your electric kettle in there you could just leave it in place.

        Like

  3. Thanks so much for all the great info, Beth!
    I remember when you were diagnosed, God is answering our prayers! The green tea & your faithfulness is nourishing♥

    We’re kindred spirits, you know of my love for tea & for collecting quotes 😀

    Here’s a collection of tea quotes I’ve been working on to include with a card for my exchange each month (I have some new ‘tea stamps’ so cute!):

    Tea should be taken in solitude.
    ~C.S. Lewis

    You can never get a cup of tea large enough
    or a book long enough to suit me.
    ~C.S. Lewis

    A Proper Tea is much nicer
    than a Very Nearly Tea,
    which is one you forget about afterwards.
    ~A.A. Milne

    Harry found the [tea]…
    seemed to burn away
    a little of the fear
    fluttering in his chest.
    ~J.K. Rowling

    We had a kettle; we let it leak:
    Our not repairing made it worse.
    We haven’t had any tea for a week…
    The bottom is out of the Universe.
    ~Rudyard Kipling

    There is a great deal of poetry
    and fine sentiment in a chest of tea.
    ~Ralph Waldo Emerson, Letters and Social Aims

    Drinking a daily cup of tea
    will surely starve the apothecary.
    ~Chinese Proverb

    Tea is a cup of life.
    ~Unknown

    Drink your tea slowly and reverently,
    as if it is the axis on which the world earth revolves – slowly, evenly, without rushing
    toward the future.
    ~Thich Nat Hahn

    O’ peppermint tea –
    two delights per sip
    as steamy hot as passion
    cool as a wintry lake dip
    ~Terri Guillemets

    All true tea lovers not only like their tea strong,
    but like it a little stronger with each year that passes. ~George Orwell, “A Nice Cup of Tea”

    The first cup moistens my lips and throat.
    The second cup breaks my loneliness.
    The third cup searches my barren entrail
    but to find therein some thousand
    volumes of odd ideographs.
    The fourth cup raises a slight perspiration – all the wrongs of life pass out through my pores.
    At the fifth cup I am purified.
    The sixth cup calls me to the
    realms of the immortals.
    The seventh cup – ah, but I could take no more! I only feel the breath of the cool wind that raises in my sleeves.
    Where is Elysium?
    Let me ride on this sweet breeze
    and waft away thither.
    ~Lu Tung, “Tea-Drinking”

    tea leaves
    tea loves
    loves tea
    lives tea
    leaves tea?
    never.
    ~Uniek Swain

    Tea to the English is really a picnic indoors. ~Alice Walker

    Remember the tea kettle
    – it is always up to its neck in hot water,
    yet it still sings!
    ~Unknown

    P.S. I’m in the market for an electric tea kettle, mine tea kettle is seriously possessed, oh the noises it makes, Hahaha, it makes us all crazy, since I have it going so often!

    Like

  4. I should add that I sweeten my tea with a little raw honey–also healthful–or plain sugar. Artificial sweeteners are incredibly bad for you.

    Like

  5. Good point with the honey! I’m thinking of eating more clean this New Year…No artificial, white or processed foods 😀

    Like

  6. Wonderful, wonderful news, Beth! Thank you for all the great information. I’m a huge tea drinker myself, and usually prefer more robust blends, but I’m going to try out what you suggest.

    Like

  7. Hey Beth! I am so happy that this is working for you!! I am also a huge tea drinker and have had the electric tea kettle for years! I wouldn’t have any other one, though mine doesn’t have the settings it just turns itself off when it boils. I drink two cups or more of tea a day- and I mix regular with green tea, and honey to sweeten. hmmm, wonder if mixing them together is OK???

    Like

  8. Oh, and I forgot to add… I also make my kids/husband ice tea using regular tea, and green tea mixed and sweetened with honey. They love it!

    Like

  9. Beth,
    Thank you for sharing your journey, and I’m so glad you’ve found something that makes such a profound difference in your health. *Hugs* I recently started drinking green tea and love it. I admit that my son explained how to brew it properly. 🙂 Take care, and I wish you the very best! *Hugs*

    Like

  10. Excellent post, Beth. Enjoyed learning more about green tea. Looks like I’m going to have to overcome my aversion to the drink!

    Like

  11. Excellent article!! Thanks for sharing…you are such an inspiration, sweetie. ☺
    Cindy

    Like

  12. So glad this is working for you, Beth! I honestly think medical science needs to study the effects of herbal and homeopathic medicine on patients. Natural remedies also work well in preventating many types of ailments.
    You just have to know what to use for your own personal benefit.

    Like

Leave a Reply

