My Vintage American Christmas Ghost Story Romance


The year is 1968, think hippies, the cultural revolution and Americans divided into two diametrically opposed camps.  Those who were freaky and those who were square.  I’m glad to say I ranked among the former at the grand age of 13.  The song “San Francisco (Be Sure to Wear Flowers in Your Hair)” came out in ”67 but exemplified the hippie movement still going strong  in ”68.  The war in Vietnam suffered its worst year ever and brought the horrors of the battlefield with civilian casualties into our living room via the evening news.  Our first fully televised up close and personal war.  Which explains the many marches, rallies, and protests.

Fashion was all over the place, and fishnet hose all the rage.  I delighted in my very own pair.  The maxi dress followed on the heels of the maxi skirt, which I was all about.  Mom sewed several for me.  I floated around like a princess, loved my first Bonne Bell lipstick, thrilled to the outrageous (for that day) rock song Innagadadavida by Iron Butterfly, was awed by Aquarius and the musical production Hair.  Stunned might be a better word, but it definitely impressed me.

Two shocking assassination took place that year, Martin Luther King and Robert Kennedy.  America was never the same again.

Space exploration erupted in a big way.  I shared the nation’s excitement over  the launch of Apollo 7 which orbited the earth 163 times, and Apollo 8 began the first U.S. mission to orbit the moon.  Our family and friends gathered around the black and white TV set to watch both takeoffs.  And I was a big fan of Star Trek, the original TV series, with James T. Kirk and his stellar crew.

The  top films in 1968 were Romeo and Juliette, 2001: A Space Odyssey,  Rosemary’s Baby, the first Planet of the Apes, Funny Girl, the Thomas Crown Affair,  the Lion in Winter, Bullitt,  Yours, Mine, and Ours, and  Oliver.   Romeo and Juliette stamped me as a romantic forever.

Guru’s and Eastern religions gained popularity in America and the world, as did several cults.  Remember the Moonies?  Not to neglect the ‘Jesus Freaks.’  I’m a Christian, but they were over the top for me.  Behind all of this heightened spiritualism was much soul-searching  as people tuned inward to discover who they really were.   And many didn’t have a clue.

Nostalgia drew me  to set Somewhere The Bells Ring in 1968 in the old family home place at Christmas, with flashbacks to an earlier era, 1918 and the end of World War 1, the Great War as it was known.  Contrasting  the effects of WWI and Vietnam through Eric and his Great Uncle Edward Burke, Marines who returned from each war, plays a significant role in the story.   And much self-discovery takes place in Bailey and Eric along with fast growing mutual discovery.  And then there’s the ghost.

Blurb: Caught with pot in her dorm room, Bailey Randolph is exiled to a relative’s ancestral home in Virginia to straighten herself out. Banishment to Maple Hill is dismal, until a ghost appears requesting her help. Bailey is frightened but intrigued. Then her girlhood crush, Eric Burke, arrives and suddenly Maple Hill isn’t so bad.

To Eric, wounded in Vietnam, his military career shattered, this homecoming feels no less like exile. But when he finds Bailey at Maple Hill, her fairy-like beauty gives him reason to hope–until she tells him about the ghost haunting the house. Then he wonders if her one experiment with pot has made her crazy.As Bailey and Eric draw closer, he agrees to help her find a long-forgotten Christmas gift the ghost wants. But will the magic of Christmas be enough to make Eric believe–in Bailey and the ghost–before the Christmas bells ring?

***Available in kindle and nookbook and ebook at all major online booksellers.

6 responses to “My Vintage American Christmas Ghost Story Romance

  1. Beth; I’m not published yet, but my 1st book “A Mother’s Prayers” is set in 1969 and spans a 10 year period of my heroine’s life. I read this and loved it. That was such a fun time. I guess this was my best time. Thanks for the memories.

    Veronica

    Like

  2. Beautiful post…I read it twice I enjoyed it so much!

    Like

  3. I love the sound of this story Beth! I love the time period. It’s why I chose (1967) for my own soon to be released HOME. There’s just something about that era.

    Btw- that picture of the warrior
    <——— right here- to the left? That is my wolf shifter, Jon! I love him! Great taste.

    Like

Leave a Reply

