The Joys and Trials of Gardening


Spring came back, and went mad. After a long winter’s nap, she woke up ready to party hardy.  I’ve battled to keep up as it suddenly seems everything needs doing. Today my back is grumbling and I’m suffering from my annual carpel tunnel flare up.  And still seeking the perfect wrist wrap, one that offers support while allowing some flexibility. I can’t do anything with those wraps that imprison my hand and wrist in unyielding plastic like armor.  I like the Smart Glove but have to wash and dry it often to tighten it back up.  Maybe after two years I need a new one.  Even the simple ace hand and wrist support is helpful.  My best help is ibuprofen.  And the only individuals who want to assist me are quite small, or dogs. Not as helpful as you might think, but that’s the crowd I roll with.

Back to the garden.

“Gardening requires lots of water – most of it in the form of perspiration.”  ~Lou Erickson

“Gardening is a matter of your enthusiasm holding up until your back gets used to it.”  ~Author Unknown

“Gardening is about enjoying the smell of things growing in the soil, getting dirty without feeling guilty, and generally taking the time to soak up a little peace and serenity.”  ~Lindley Karstens, noproblemgarden.com

Leave a Reply

