If You Like Native American Historical Romance


You’ve come to the RIGHT place.  I’ve labored over several novels, done meticulous research, and written from my heart as I feel profoundly for Native Americans.

To date, I have three published novels in my colonial frontier trilogy. The third, Kira Daughter of the Moon, came out Nov. 2nd. The main characters in these stories are a mix of Native Americans, of course, and English/Scots-Irish with a smidgen of French–my ancestral roots. All three novels are in print and ebook.

Red Bird’s Song is doing well at Amazon for Native American Romance, but Through the Fire is lagging behind and I’m not sure why. It’s equally an NA story and setting. I’ve tried to remedy this with appropriate tags at Amazon. Feel free to click on them and ‘like’ the novel. But I digress. Frequently.When I wrote Through the Fire I felt as though I’d been through the flames. My hero and heroine certainly had. This adventure romance with a strong The Last of the Mohicans flavor and a mystical weave was born in the fertile ground of my imagination, fed by years of research, and a powerful draw to my English/Scots-Irish roots. My fascination with stirring tales of the colonial frontier and Eastern Woodland Indians is an early and abiding one. My ancestors had family members killed and captured by Native Americans. Some individuals returned with intriguing accounts of their captivity while others disappeared without a trace.

 Much of the history and events in Red Bird’s Song and Through the Fire were inspired by accounts I uncovered while researching my early American ancestors. My fascination with Colonial America, particularly stirring tales of the frontier and the Shawnee Indians, is an early and abiding one. My forebears had interactions with this tribe, including family members taken captive. I have family ties to Wicomechee, an outstanding Shawnee warrior who really lived and whose story greatly impacted Red Bird’s Song. I’ve included more on Wicomechee at the end of the novel as a bonus for my readers.

Blurb for Red Bird’s Song:
Taken captive by a Shawnee war party wasn’t how Charity Edmonson hoped to escape an unwanted marriage. Nor did Shawnee warrior Wicomechee expect to find the treasure promised by his grandfather’s vision in the unpredictable red-headed girl. George III’s English Red-Coats, unprincipled colonial militia, prejudice and jealousy are not the only enemies Charity and Wicomechee will face before they can hope for a peaceful life. The greatest obstacle to happiness is in their own hearts. As they struggle through bleak mountains and cold weather, facing wild nature and wilder men, Wicomechee and Charity must learn to trust each other.~

(image of the Alleghenies, the setting for much of Red Bird’s Song and Through the Fire, taken by my mother, Pat Churchman.)

Blurb for Through the Fire:
At the height of the French and Indian War, a young English widow ventures into the colonial frontier in search of a fresh start. She never expects to find it in the arms of the half-Shawnee, half-French warrior who makes her his prisoner in the raging battle to possess a continent–or to be aided by a mysterious white wolf and a holy man.~

A few comments from Reviewers For Through the Fire:

Ms. Trissel has captured the time period wonderfully…. I felt I was there through her descriptions and settings. An excellent story where there is so much happening.

Two Lips Review by Shelia (She gave it five lips 🙂

Through the Fire is full of interesting characters, beautifully described scenery, and vivid action sequences. It is a must read for any fan of historical romance. –Long and Short Reviews by Poinsettia (It won book of the week at LASR)

Among it’s awards, Through the Fire came in fourth in the top ten BHB Reader’s Choice Best Books of 2009 and finaled in the 2008 Golden Heart Contest for historical romance.

A Few Reviewer Comments for Red Bird’s Song:
“I loved the descriptions…I felt I was there…Many mystical episodes are intermingled with the events…The ending is a real surprise, but I will let you have the pleasure of reading it for yourself. “

–Seriously Reviewed

“This is a beautifully written story filled with adventure and suspense…This book touched my soul even as it provided a thrilling fictional escape into a period of history I have always found fascinating.” –Night Owl Book Review by Laurie-J  (A Night Owl top Pick) For the full review click here~

As for the third novel: Kira, Daughter of the Moon, the sequel to Through the Fire, is set among the clannish Scots-Irish in the Alleghenies on the fringe of a colonial frontier that’s rapidly expanding west. The Native Americans in this mystical, adventurous romance are highly essential secondary characters.  Not sure when the story gets listed if that counts as NA or if it will get lost in the vast world of undefined historical romance.

Blurb for Kira, Daughter of the Moon:
Logan McCutcheon returns to colonial Virginia after seven years in the hands of Shawnee Indians. But was he really a captive, as everybody thinks? He looks and fights like a warrior, and seems eager to return to those he calls friends and family.

Kira McClure has waited for Logan all those years, passing herself off as odd to keep suitors at bay––and anyone else from getting too close.  Now that he’s back, he seems to be the only person capable of protecting her from the advances of Josiah Campbell and accusations of witchcraft.  And to defend the settlers against a well-organized band of murderous thieves.~

2 responses to “If You Like Native American Historical Romance

  1. We drove through such beautiful mountains on our way from Lynchburg to Winchester today. As usual, my fanciful mind wondered… I am from Chambersburg, PA near the south-central MD border. My ancestor came over from Germany prior to the Revolutionary War. He served on Washington’s private guard, akin to today’s secret service of the Pres. You’re right, it’s a very interesting era of history–too often forgotten. Vonnie

    Like

  2. Thanks for sharing in the memory.

    Like

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s