The Renewal of Life


“I love spring anywhere, but if I could choose I would always greet it in a garden.”  ~Ruth Stout

When I was 6 yrs old, our family had recently returned from Taiwan where my parents taught English for 3 yrs. One of my earliest Easter memories is of finding wonderful colored eggs hidden in a yard filled with crocus and daffodils.  Magical.

Is there anything at Easter quite like your first egg hunt or  basket full of brightly dyed eggs? I love the abundant new life in spring and the message of hope that is Easter.

No matter how long winter lasts, eventually spring will come and there’s no where more lovely to greet it than in the Shenandoah Valley.  This Easter weekend the weather is glorious, which means I’m spending much of it in the garden with my daughter, Elise,  and whoever else happens by.  We planted potatoes, a tradition on Good Friday.   All at once it seems everything needs to be done in the garden, weeding, mulching, planting…each year I swear I’m gonna pace myself, and each year I wear myself out. zzzzzz…

“Yes, in the poor man’s garden grow

Far more than herbs and flowers—

Kind thoughts, contentment, peace of mind,

And joy for weary hours.” ~ Mary Howitt

Years ago, my dear grandmother gave me a start of these Virginia Bluebells and they’ve spread happily in the shade of evergreens and an old maple tree. “Some flowers are lovely only to the eye, others are lovely to the heart.”

“The resurrection gives my life meaning and direction and the opportunity to start over no matter what my circumstances.”  ~Robert Flatt

“Easter spells out beauty, the rare beauty of new life. ” ~Douglas Horton

“On Easter Day the veil between time and eternity thins to gossamer.”  ~Douglas Horton

“For I remember it is Easter morn, And life and love and peace are all new born. “~Alice Freeman Palmer

8 responses to “The Renewal of Life

  1. Great post, Beth!

    Easter always spells renewal to me, but particularly so after the harsh winter we had this year. Don’t know if I’m looking forward to working in the yard, though, but getting the backyard grill in shape makes it all worth it. LOL.

    Like

  2. Oh right~time to grill!

    Like

  3. Love the spring flowers, especially hyacinth and lilacs, oh then peonies, well you get the drift!

    Like

  4. Thank you for the inspiration post. This is a lovely, hopeful time of year.

    Like

  5. Found your blog because we both used the tag Ruth Stout. I was reading along and saw that you mention the Shenandoah Valley, do you hail from the area? My mother is from that region of Pa, more exact Mahanoy City. She always says that the “upstaters” are the nicest people.
    Your post makes me long for spring this year…just need to get through Feb. and March! 🙂

    Like

    • Thank you so much for your kind comment. I love good old Ruth Stout. Yes, I am from the Shenandoah Valley of Virginia, live here on the dairy farm where my husband grew up. One does indeed long for spring. This has been a very long winter. And this year, our garden will be the best ever!

      Like

  6. Beth,
    I didn’t realize there was more than one Shenandoah Valley, I was referring the Pa version, but I’m sure the Virginia folks are just as nice as the Pa folks are.
    And we have all had a tough winter this year!
    Warm regards,
    Barbara

    Like

Leave a Reply

