Author Faith V. Smith~


(This is reposted from my group blog, The Pink Fuzzy Slipper Writers)

Greetings Faith.  We’re delighted to have you visit with us. ~

1: What do you most like about writing? Least like? What made you want to be an author?

What I like the most…I love creating characters.  How they talk to me, how they won’t move if I’m not going in direction they want me to…lol.
What I like the least…second guessing myself after the book is finished.  Like when all the edits are done, the galley’s finished, it has a release date, etc, and I’m going, maybe I should have done it this way.  I am also not very fond of editing my own work…lol.
What made me want to be an author?  Well, it’s like this, I don’t think I had a choice.  From the time I was old enough to know what an imagination was, I was daydreaming.  I dreamt of heroes, heroines, plots, all kinds of stuff that took me away.  Once I discovered romance novels, I couldn’t stop reading them.  So many exciting worlds!
2: When did you decide to write romance and how long have you been at it? Also, have you written other genres?
I decided I wanted to write romance in the sixth grade.  Yep, when there were dragons and dinosaurs…lol.  I have been seriously writing since 2000.  No, I stick to romance.
3: How do you get over writer’s block?
Now you are speaking my language…lol.  I actually interviewed a professor who helped me get over writer’s block.  You simply turn off your monitor and write blind so to speak.  Don’t worry about the mistakes, just visualize the scene.  It works.  Here is the link where you can find the article if interested.  http://thewildrosepress.com/publisher/index.php?option=com_content&task=view&id=1047&Itemid=142
4: How do you come up with your ideas?
Most of my ideas come out of the blue.  From a dream, watching someone walk down a road, just a passing thought, a thunderstorm.
5: Do you ever have problems not going over the top details and plot lines? Do your characters take over?
My characters do have a mind of their own, but so far they have not proved to be too bad…lol.  I think that my details and plot lines balance out pretty well.
6: How did you find a publisher?
I entered the Through The Garden Gate Contest and got a request from Pam Winger at The Wild Rose Press to revise and resubmit.  I did and then I submitted a paranormal.  I was truly blessed!
7: On average, how long does it take to write your books?
That depends.  My first book, which is not pubbed took over seven years with a five year hiatus due to family crises.  I have written a book in less than two years, two months, two weeks, and six weeks.  I think it depends on the subject and if I can just find the time to sit down and let the muse take over.
8: Do you have a person in your life that you would consider to be your inspiration?
Wow, that is a hard question.  There are more than one.  My husband who fought the battle of a brain injury and lost, my daughter who cared for him and put her own life on hold, and special friends who are authors who wouldn’t let me quit.
9: Who’s your favorite author to read? Favorite book?
Now, that is a question, I feel I just can’t answer.  We don’t have enough space…lol.  I love to read medieval and regency authors, as well as vampire authors.

10: How do you cope with rejection?

My first rejection made me want to tear up the manuscript.  It was for a contest.  A friend stopped me…lol.  Since then I’ve been rejected several times and still dread the dreaded rejection.  Now, I try to read it without getting my feelings  hurt, put it away for a day or two and then look at it again, and stubborn as I am, I try to rework the manuscript to make it better.
11: Do you base your characters on people you know?
Not really, although I might use certain characteristics or surnames from people I know.
12: How do you determine the goals of your characters?
That is a good question.  I’m not sure…lol.  I tend to sit down, write out the first few chapters, and then take a look at GMC.  I know that’s not the way it’s suppose to be, but I have to get into the characters heads before I know what their goals are.

Faith, we have much in common.  Thanks so much for your honest, touching, and witty answers.

For more on this talented author please visit her website at:http://www.faithvsmith.com/

Leave a Reply

