Flower Thoughts On This Snowy Day


I’m thinking springtime thoughts amid the winter drear.  Have a day warmed with hope and imbued with new life.

“Wherever flowers cannot be reared, there man cannot live.”~ Napoleon Bonaparte~
*Which rules out this place for lord only knows how many more weeks.

“The Earth Laughs in Flowers” (and I miss them) ~ Ralph Waldo Emerson

“Never a daisy grows, but a mystery guideth the growing.” ~  Richard Realf

I love spring anywhere, but if I could choose I would always greet it in a garden.  ~Ruth Stout

I love Ruth Stout and have her gardening books.

“The naked earth is warm with Spring,

And with green grass and bursting trees

Leans to the sun’s kiss glorying,

And quivers in the sunny breeze.” ~Julian Grenfel

*I thank you God for this most amazing day, for the leaping greenly spirits of trees, and for the blue dream of sky and for everything which is natural, which is infinite, which is yes.* ~ e.e. cummings

Flowers… are a proud assertion that a ray of beauty outvalues all the utilities of the world.  ~Ralph Waldo Emerson

Daffodils,

That come before the swallow dares,

and take

The winds of March with beauty.  ~William Shakespeare

“Yes, in the poor man’s garden grow

Far more than herbs and flowers—

Kind thoughts, contentment, peace of mind,

And joy for weary hours.” ~ Mary Howitt

Mary Howitt has so many lovely quotes. I’m a fan.

“Little flower, but if I could understand, what you are, root
and all in all, I should know what God and man is.”
~ Tennyson

“Life is full of beauty. Notice it. Notice the bumble bee, the small child, and the smiling  faces. Smell the rain, and feel the wind. Live your life to the fullest potential, and fight for your dreams.”  ~ Ashley Smith

There are moments when all anxiety and stated toil are becalmed in the infinite leisure and repose of nature. ~ Henry David Thoreau

Amen to that.  Sigh….

Those who dwell among the beauties and mysteries of the earth are never alone or weary of life.” ~ Rachel Carson

What an excellent collection of quotes.

 

 

For more on my work please visit: www.bethtrissel.com

2 responses to “Flower Thoughts On This Snowy Day

  1. Oh Beth, I have always loved Flower in the Crannied Wall by Tennyson ever since I first read it as a freshman in college. One reason I love to have geraniums inside is because they bloom during winter, and it’s cheerful to go in your kitchen and have blooms greeting you. My Easter? cactus has pink buds all over it. I’m so excited.

    Like

Leave a Reply

