Old Time Recipe for Corn Pudding


I’ve always been a fan of corn pudding, an old fashioned dish and one of the foods my characters would have eaten in my early American historical novels. Corn pudding, corn bread, and corn mush reach well back into America’s history.  This basic recipe is from The Mennonite Community Cookbook.

****

2 Cups grated Corn (recipe assumes, of course, you grew you own)

*Substitute canned yellow corn (drained)

2 Eggs

1 tsp. salt

1/8 tsp. pepper

1 Tab. Sugar

2 Tabs. Butter

1 Tab. Flour

! cup milk

Mix corn, salt, sugar, pepper, flour and melted butter.  Add beaten eggs and milk. Pour into greased baking dish.

Bake at 350 for 35 minutes.

5 responses to “Old Time Recipe for Corn Pudding

  1. I might try this for Thanksgiving dinner! It goes so well with the theme of the first Thanksgiving. It looks really yummy in the picture. Thanks for sharing your recipe!

    Like

  2. Thanks for sharing this recipe, Beth. It looks yummy! I think I’ll add it to tomorrow’s menu! I love old recipes like this.

    Like

  3. Finally A REAL CORN PUDDING RECIPE grating fresh corn makes a huge difference in the texture and is the way I remember it from my grandma’s house in central Virginia and she got her recipe from her mama. She used to just saw off the corn off the cob with a knife.

    Like

Leave a Reply

