David Austen’s Magnificent Roses


Abraham Darby, my favorite David Austen rose, picture by my daughter Elise

“I perhaps owe having become a painter to flowers.”
~ Claude Monet

Beauty inspires my own word paintings.

English breeder David Austen’s roses are exquisite.
To quote his website: “After fifty years of intensive breeding, David Austin’s English Roses combine the forms and fragrances of old roses with the repeat flowering of modern roses. They are very easy to grow, healthy and reliable.”

I struggle to raise the traditional hybrid teas which are not as well suited to our sometimes bitter winters and more demanding in general. Austen roses have far more vigor and I love the way he combines the old look and fragrance with repeat bloom. I have a small collection and am slowly adding.
His website and rose catalogue draw you into a wonderfully inviting world of fragrance and satiny petals in a glorious array of hues.

http://www.davidaustinroses.com/english/Advanced.asp

For more on my work please visit: http://www.bethtrissel.com/

Leave a Reply

