My Review of The Spiderwick Chronicles


I know, I’m behind, but I recently saw THE SPIDERWICK CHRONICLES (on Netflix) with my 11 yr old niece, a close friend, and my 19 yr old daughter, and we all LOVED it!
Considering the last review I did was of Jack Black lip balm–I’m addicted to chapstick and lip balm–I’ve gone all out and written up a short post for this film.

The Spiderwick Chronicles is a wonderfully imaginative, delightful YA movie with appeal to all ages, except for very young children. Technically it’s an urban fantasy but has classic fantasy elements. All the actors do an excellent job, but I particularly enjoyed the exceptionally talented Freddie Highmore. The brother/sister team of twin brothers Jared and Simon (both play by Highmore) and older sister Mallory (Sarah Bolger) is engaging and touching as they battle the evil creatures bent on reclaiming the all important book, The Spiderwick Chronicles. The magic circle placed around the mysterious old house by their long-lost Great Great Uncle Arthur Spiderwick (David Strathairn) is in danger of being breached by the cunning lord of evil, the shape-shifting ogre, Mulgarath (Nick Nolte). Not to mention, a host of goblins. Unlikely allies come to the childrens assistance, a comic Brownie, Thimbletack, (Martin Short) who must be fed honey to sweeten his temper and a gregarious Hoggoblin, Hogsqueal (Seth Rogen) who helps them better ‘see’ this fantastic realm.
Do magical creatures truly dwell among us? Arthur Spiderwick thought so, and after seeing this movie, I agree.

www. bethtrissel. com

Leave a Reply

