Gluten-Free Banana Bread


Gluten Free bananna BreadThis recipe is from our Mennonite church cookbook, a two-volume set my mother-in-law was the driving force behind getting together years ago, and one my late sister-in-law contributed. Today is the anniversary of Catarina’s death last April, so this is in memory of a strong, beloved Christian woman. I’ve adapted the recipe for gluten-free and the bread turns out great. It’s a favorite in this household. No one can tell it’s gluten-free.

Gluten free bananna bread on sunporch1 Cup Sugar (I used half a cup), 1/2 Cup Shortening (I use organic coconut oil or light olive oil for baking), 2 Eggs, slightly beaten (I use good-sized eggs)

3 mashed bananas

1/2 tsp. salt, 1 tsp. baking soda (be certain it’s gluten-free), 1/2 tsp. baking powder (Rumford is gluten-free)

1 and 3/4 cups all-purpose gluten-free flour (I use Jules, and it’s super, but you can try another brand. You may need more or less flour depending on how large your bananas and eggs are)

*3/4 cup chopped nuts (Optional, and no)

Cream together the sugar and shortening (or coconut oil, etc.). Add eggs and mashed bananas. Combine dry ingredients and add to the wet mixture. Blend well. Bake in greased bread pan at 350 for about 50 minutes, but check at 35 because it may take less time depending on your mixture. This is a moist bread and freezes well.

After learning I have a form of Interstitial Cystitis this winter (on top of severe gluten intolerance), and adopting the IC diet, I found bananas are a trigger food for me, but I can tolerate this bread. Catarina was extremely health conscious and would approve my adaptations of her recipe.

*Images by daughter Elise

2 responses to “Gluten-Free Banana Bread

  1. Yum! That looks good. I can smell it now.
    Sue B

Leave a Reply

